Mini Mecca Haul

Hey there!

If you haven’t seen my previous post you may not be aware that I am currently sunning it up in Australia and since I’m here I thought I’d have a little look around and see what makeup I could grab that might not be available in the UK. Thankfully for me the MYER store near to where I’m staying just opened up a Mecca and I was straight over there to see what they had on offer. For the most part a lot of the brands are available (and cheaper) in the UK, however it was nice to have a little look at brands like Hourglass which we don’t really have in store to see in person. Showing some restraint I picked up just three things so I thought I’d share them with you, and eventually I’ll let you know what I think of them! I have also picked up some more ‘drugstore’ makeup which I’ll either do in another haul or do separate posts on them.

The first thing I picked up was something that I wanted but didn’t necessarily need. I had brought a selection of different lipsticks with me but I wasn’t really sure I wanted to wear any of them for my friends wedding this coming weekend. As I was being shown around a few different things with one of the sales assistants she showed me a few products by Too Faced. We do have Too Faced in the UK though I’ve never really looked at or tried any of their products and so I was interested to see what she had to say. I told her I was looking for something long wearing so I don’t have to worry about touching up too much and instantly I fell in love with this shade of the Too Faced Melted liquified lipstick in ‘Melted Fig’. It’s a medium sort of plum/purple shade with a somewhat pink tone to it and has a more glossy finish. I’ve tried this out once and so far I really like the applicator – it has a nice shape that makes it easy to apply and you can choose how much product to distribute onto the spongey end. The way I wore this was to apply one even coat, blot it, then apply some more to get a more full coverage finish. I found by doing this it left you with a sort of stain so as it wears it looks more even. Either way, I’ll be sure to do a proper review with swatches etc once I’ve given it a good go.

IMG_0356 IMG_0358

Next up is another Too Faced product but is something I’ve been looking for for quite a while now. Because I have oily skin I’ve been looking for a powder that is in a compact with a mirror, and preferably with a space for a sponge that I could just put in my handbag for topping up and mattifying throughout the day. I was shown a few different varieties in the store but this was one that really caught my attention. Aside from the beautiful packaging and the fact that it smells like chocolate (I actually think I’m falling in love with Too Faced products!), it basically ticked all the boxes for what I wanted, and the biggest plus: it comes in a shade fair enough for my English Rose complexion! Technically this is a powder foundation with a medium to full coverage but this just means I can use it both as a top up and as a foundation, since we did try it in store over my foundation and it didn’t go cakey as far as I could tell. Again, I’ll have to let you know how it goes when I properly try it out, but for now let’s just admire how beautiful this is.

IMG_0359 IMG_0360 IMG_0361 IMG_0363 IMG_0369

Last up is something I got simply because I wanted to try out this brand, and that is the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush in the shade ‘Incandescent Electra’. I have heard so so much about the Ambient Lighting Powders and Blushes and lusted after them for quite some time (I had my eye on the Ambient Lighting Palette but decided I should probably pass it up on this occasion) and after seeing them in person I knew I was going to be going home with one. Since I don’t actually wear blush because I was never really sure about what I wanted to go for, the assistant showed me the ones available and we decided on this beautiful cool peach shade. Again, the packaging is beautiful and sleek, and the marbled effect is just stunning so I really can’t wait to give this a go!

IMG_0373 IMG_0374 IMG_0375


So that’s all that! Like I said, I do have a few more makeup buys to share with you but that’s for another day. If you’ve tried any of these products let me know what you think of them. Also if you can recommend a good blush brush that would be fab!

Hope you’re all doing well! Let me know in the comments.

Talk to you later!
becca

twitterinstagram

 

Leave a Reply

