MAC Wash and Dry Collection

Hey there!

So if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I’m a sucker for all things MAC lipstick – especially when it comes to limited edition packaging. This summer collection by MAC was much anticipated and for once the UK actually got it first! I’ve had these two products from the collection for a couple weeks now, but haven’t quite had the time to blog about them until now. I thought I’d share a few pictures of the products in person just for the amazing packaging, like seriously, it’s beautiful! If you’re thinking about picking up something from the collection I’d act fast – a lot of it sold out first day online, with it coming out in stores a week later.

IMG_7091 IMG_7092 IMG_7093 IMG_7094 IMG_7095 IMG_7096Swatch comparison. Left: Morange (P.) Right: Toxic Tale (LE.)

That packaging, right?! *Heart eyes emoji*

The lipsticks in this collection are an array of orange and red hues; two permanent and two limited edition shades. The one I went for was Morange, a lipstick that is part of their permanent line. The limited shades were Tumble Dry (a pale peach/coral in lustre finish) and Steam Heat (an orange toned red in a satin finish), with the permanent offerings being Morange and the cult favourite Creme D’Nude. The reason I went for Morange was three-fold. 1; it’s been on my hit list for a long time, 2; people had seemed super unimpressed with the pigmentation and general performance of the muted counterpart Tumble Dry, and 3; well I have about a million reds – one of which being Toxic Tale (featured above) which I snapped up recently from the Red Red Red collection, and the sensible part of my brain told me I didn’t need any more. Morange is an amplified finish, meaning it’s super pigmented but has a nice glossy sheen finish to it – and being a matte lipstick lover this is not something I’d usually go for. But I love it! I wore it for the first time properly today and I got so many compliments. I’m going to put together a MOTD for it sometime soon so keep an eye out for that.

IMG_7098 IMG_7099 IMG_7100 IMG_7101 IMG_7102 IMG_7103

Now normally I’d straight away pick up two lipsticks from a LE collection, but because I wasn’t all that fussed on the other offerings and because I absolutely fell in love with the swatches I’d seen online (which are much better than mine!) I just had to get this bronzer. (Also – that packaging!!!!) For £25 this bronzer is a little pricier than what I’d go for, but my Rimmel bronzer was coming to an end, I fancied something a little different, and this looked a lot more bronze/gold toned and less orange of a bronzer.

I picked up ‘Delicates’, one of two shades offered in this collection, and whilst initially I thought it may be a little dark for my fair complexion, I’m actually in love with it. It’s their ‘Studio Sculpt Defining Bronzer’ which they describe as being more of a ‘gel’ formula. Whilst it’s definitely not a wet/cream bronzer, it’s also not super powdery and you don’t feel like you’re wasting product which is a massive plus. Also it doesn’t feel like you’re caking your face in layers of powder and goes on beautifully over my translucent powder, and you don’t have to be super cautious or go in with a light hand; you can build it up nicely until you’re the bronzed goddess you want to be.

Overall whilst word on the net is that some of this collection (i.e the lipstick selection) was a bit of a disappointment to people, generally the packaging makes up for that. There is also some gorgeous mini eyeshadow palettes you should check out, as well as the usual blusher offerings, and an ombre highlighter that has been talk of the beauty community for weeks before.


Next on my hit list is the summer lipstick collection by Giambattista Valli and the (potentially) autumn/fall collection by Chinese haute couture designer Guo Pei. Exciting times MAC lovers!

I hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know if you got/will get anything from this collection.

Talk to you later,
becca

17 thoughts on “MAC Wash and Dry Collection

  1. Saw this online but all of it was sold out! Honestly gutted as they look like stunning products. I’ve only ever owned one MAC lipstick ( sunny Seoul – ❤ ) and lost it not long after I'd got it for Christmas 2014. It was so pretty on, had a lovely texture and smelled amazing. Nearly cried when I couldn't find it! I would definitely recommend it and I think I'm going to repurchase it. x

    Like

  2. The packaging is gorgeous!! I love the swatches of the lipstick too! I think they look like fun colors! The bronzer looks too perfect!! I hope to see you do a possible makeup look with these. 😉 lol. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That packaging is truly gorgeous! I would just buy something for the packaging alone haha! The two lipsticks look beautiful, I’ve wanted to try Morange it looks such a pretty colour!

    Like

Leave a Reply

