My Starter Story

Hey there!

Long time no blog, I know! If you follow me on social media you might know I went away to London this past weekend since it was my boyfriends birthday on the 25th and we wanted to spend some time together. If you’ve been following my blog for a while you’ll also know that I’m back home with my family after a stint at university, and attempting to save up and move in to my own little place with my boyfriend. This won’t be the first time we’ve lived together though, we did have a place together last year (which we shared with a friend) so I’ve picked up a few tips over time to make that little space my own. Speaking of which, I decided to share my Starter Story after a company called Compass had this idea going on called Starter Stories – other people sharing stories of their first places, and how they made it their own. This is how I made my place my own.

Compass is a new real estate service that helps people find the perfect neighborhood to call home. Our focus is identifying the best match based on interest and personality, using our platform for finding NYC apartments. We want real estate to be friendly and personable.

Like a lot of people my sort of age, it can be hard going from the independence of having your own place, to be back living in your parents house, which is why it’s nice to have a little bit of space to call your own. Everyone needs a place that they can hide away in and relax, and for me that’s my bedroom, so it’s important that it feels like mine. So for my starter story I’ve put together the few ways in which I’ve personalised my space.

Space isn’t an issue. I don’t have the largest of rooms so I’ve made sure that I have a cosy area. This table was only £5 from IKEA (and comes in a variety of colours!), and I’ve turned it into a sort of bedside table. Here I’ve personalised this little area with photos, perfume bottles, and scented candles, as well as displaying my lipsticks in an acrylic holder, and having my current books ready for reading! Other small touches such as a throw or cushions on the bed also create a super cosy atmosphere, and complete of course with a christmas themed hot water bottle! I’ve also decorated my bed frame with a dream catcher which was a present from my brothers girlfriend, and my head scarfs, as well as attaching a reading lamp.

IMG_6526 IMG_6527 IMG_6529 IMG_6531 IMG_6534 IMG_6540 IMG_6546 IMG_6548 IMG_6550 IMG_6551

When it comes to decorating sometimes money can be an issue, but a great way to modernise or change the look of a room is making use of a feature wall. In this room I’ve decorated most of the walls with cream paint on lining paper – this will smooth out the walls, and by using cream instead of white it gives much less of a harsh/stark effect, and also allow you to easily change the look of the room further down the line. For my feature wall I’ve used this black and white textured wallpaper. This creates a striking contrast to the rest of the room, yet doesn’t darken the room like dark colours can do. Personally I’m not one for loads of bright colours, and love more of a vintage style, so this style matches my personality a lot better, and I think using these techniques makes a small space feel bigger than it is.

IMG_6544 IMG_6541

The main thing about having a place of your own is that feeling of independence – and it’s one of the things I miss most about living away from home, that’s why it’s important to make your space feel like yours. No matter how big your space is, your budget, or whether you can make any permeant changes, there’s always these little ways to personalise your space and make it feel like home.


If like me you love being nosy and checking out the most amazing places (that you totally can’t afford but love to lust after) then check out the Compass website here where you can visit their neighbourhoods, and like me you can start planning your Gossip Girl life on the Upper East Side!

Hope you’ve enjoyed my starter story. I am so excited to take all these little aspects of my space and start using them in my place with my boyfriend, in a space that’s ours. We both dream of having a proper fixer-upper that we can completely personalise to our own tastes and needs, but for now it’s one step at a time!

Talk to you later!
becca

 

16 thoughts on “My Starter Story

  1. Looks like the perfect place to go and have a good old chill! I am just checking out the website now – how amazing are some of those places?! I live with my boyfriend now but its a rented flat and it came with all the furniture and we cant decorate. I can’t wait to get my own house so that I can make it my own and have it exactly the way I want! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great to have you back Becca – love this post & all the fab piccies that comes with it! You’ve got a great little Aladdins cave of goodies there 😀 Great to have a little space to call your own! hope your BF enjoyed his birthday & good luck with the saving, it won’t be long adding up ❤ Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! i’ve missed it!
      Haha I love my little room, I’m such a hoarder though I just keep everything. It’s organised mess! 😛
      Ahh thanks! I’m trying to be a bit better with money lately, but now I have a steady job it’ll be so much easier! x

      Liked by 1 person

      • The job’s alright – it’s a job! 😛 Hahah. Not amazing work but I’m earning money, and they understand that it’s not a permanent position so its pretty perfect in that sense. x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

