Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation Review

Hey there!

Today I wanted to share a quick review with you on the Rimmel London Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation. I’ve actually seen a few reviews of this product in the past week coming up on my feed, which is funny since I actually bought it on a whim having heard nothing about it at the time. However, I had faith in the fact that I’ve enjoyed Rimmel foundations in the past! The Match Perfection is perhaps my favourite drugstore foundation, and I’ve also tried the Wake Me Up foundation which, despite not being something I was 100% on at the start, I do really enjoy using it. The only real reason I bought the 25 Hour foundation was because it was Rimmel, and because I wanted a full coverage foundation.

I’m going to start by saying that out of the three, this is perhaps my least favourite. That is mostly down to the fact that, for me, it’s a very hit or miss foundation. Some days it goes on amazing and looks flawless and I’m like ‘ohmigod just look at my face!’. Other days it won’t blend right and feels like it just sits on top of my skin looking streaky (I think preparing your skin right is key here!). Also whilst, like the other two foundations, the shade I picked up was 010 Light Porcelain (thanks the Rimmel Gods for making a foundation pale enough for my ghostly skin!) this one leans more pink. This was a minor complain I had with the Wake Me Up because that one felt slightly more yellow-toned to me, whilst the Match Perfection sat nicely in the more neutral tones. That’s also probably why I liked the Match Perfection best because my skin doesn’t really lean more pink nor more yellow. However having said that it didn’t look bad on my skin. It looked great when I got it right! The colour match was almost perfect and despite it being a full coverage foundation it wasn’t a nightmare to buff in to the skin. I found that it covered most redness and blemishes quite well, but I probably wouldn’t go without at least a little concealer, and it didn’t bunch up when layering other face products on top and doesn’t look cakey.

So don’t be put off by the fact I said it was my least favourite – it’s probably just because the Match Perfection worked best for my combination skin type (some areas being very dry, others being very oily), and the colour match is pretty damn spot on for me. I know that people (like Karen) rave about this foundation and use nothing else, so if you’re in the market for a full coverage foundation I wouldn’t hesitate to try this out – and I probably might repurchase this again once we come back around to the colder months (I’ll definitely be picking up the Match Perfection as we head into spring!).

Below I’ve put in a few photos for you to see how it looks on my skin.

IMG_6352 IMG_6353 Bare face! Dark under eyes, a few blemishes, and some redness in particular around the nose.

IMG_6354 IMG_6355Wearing 25 Hour Foundation in ‘Light Porcelain’

IMG_6359With concealer and powder

IMG_6360Full face of makeup

IMG_6480Top: 25 Hour Foundation (Light Porcelain). Bottom: Wake Me Up Foundation (Light Porcelain)

IMG_6482

Overall, as usual, the packaging of this foundation is a lovely and sleek glass bottle with red top and red and white labelling on the front and back – no complaints there! This foundation does have a pump which of course is super handy to control the amount you use and to avoid wastage. When it wants to it goes on nicely, blends out, doesn’t cling to dry patches, and lasts okay on the oily parts – I just wish it did this every time I applied it!


This foundation retails for £7.99 at Superdrug and Boots.

If you’re interested in this makeup look I did a little post on it here, and if you want to see the review I wrote on the Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation then that is here! Have you tried this foundation? If so let know. And do let me know what your favourite foundation is, I’m always up for trying something new. Hope you enjoyed this post.

Talk to you later!
becca

51 thoughts on “Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation Review

  1. Oh I am so happy to find a blogger with the same tone, undertone and skin type that my: (NW15, Neutral, combination skin) that will read all your old posts on foundation and concealer. : D
    Just my skin has more imperfections that their (large pores, scars and blemishes). If you find it difficult to find foundations in your skin tone here in Europe, imagine my difficulty, I live in Brazil ?! : _ ( BB Cream today have not used … I bought on ebay some Koreans, but even taking care not to be yellowish, end up being on my skin … or too gray :((
    I like to foundation with high coverage and natural effect, does not transfer in tissues and etc. and the rarest: it is the color of our skin and undertone, right?! If you can recommend me some, please do. It is that translated posts still get a little confusing to me.
    Thank you!
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey!
      I think if you’re looking for something with a fuller coverage then this 25 hour one is a good one to try! Rimmel in general are awesome for fair skin, their shade Light Porcelain works really well for me, so I recon you should give them a go! Its the best fuller coverage foundation I’ve found so far that works for me.
      I’m still trying to find my perfect foundation – but when the winter comes I’m going to give a Laura Mercier one a go. So I’ll be sure to let everyone know what i think! 😛
      Thanks for reading and commenting love!
      xxx

      Like

  2. How can you look so great without makeup, wow!!
    I’ve been thinking for quite a while about purchasing it..given that I have very oily skin that needs a full coverage foundation. The Match Perfection works really well for me too, but is still a bit too dewy.
    Anyways, great post! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw how sweet – I definitely wouldn’t go out without any makeup on at all!
      I know what you mean, I definitely have to use powder when I use the Match Perfection, whereas if I wanted I could get away without it with this 25 Hour one (though I prefer a more matte look). Definitely give it a go – you can’t complain for the price and I think it’s a great drugstore foundation.
      Thanks for reading! x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I’m pretty loyal to my fave by Boots…No. 7 Protect & Perfect foundation. I like a light coverage that evens everything out but feels and looks like I’ve got nothing on. I love that it moisturizes, smoothes and includes spf. Love your blog. Followed! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks hun!
      That sounds awesome! I’ve never thought about trying the No. 7 stuff but I’ll definitely check it out. Thanks for the recommendation.
      Thank you so much – I’ll follow back! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t imagine it would, but then again I don’t think I ever wear foundation that long! 😛 But it seems to last nicely throughout a normal day!
      Don’t get me wrong, I do love Rimmel foundations and I’m totally in love with the Match Perfect. I haven’t yet found another brand that does a colour match for me and that is a great foundation at the same time! It seems to be one or the other! 😛 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Awwh such a shame it’s hit or miss with you Becca, as you know i absolutely LOVE this foundation and it just works for me every single day… however before I upped my moisturising/priming stages I did find that very occasionally it turned a tad chalky/streaky (especially on dry days) so I’m a firm believer that with a good moisturiser & primer it will work wonders for most 🙂 Still itching to try the match perfection… been reading awesome things about it!!! Karen Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know exactly what you mean, and I must say since swapping around skin care routine I’ve found it’s working so much better for me. When this foundation works for my it looks amazing! I just wish it did it every time 😛
      Definitely give it a go! It’s a lot more dewy but I always set foundation with a powder anyway.
      x

      Liked by 1 person

      • You know Becca I’ve heard this with a few girls, when it’s great it’s AMAZING but when it’s an off day it’s patchy and quite unflattering. I’m using the Dove Pro Age moisturiser below it and then a primer! I’m still itching to try the Match Perfection that you recommended though, I’m reading awesome things about it lately – even compared to the Wake Me Up which seems to be a hot fav too (though I’m not so keen on it) Looking forward to road testing a few more Rimmel goodies soon! Xo xo

        Like

      • Exactly! I mean it’s like 2 good days to one bad day so it wouldn’t put me off using it forever. I definitely need to find a good moisturiser for underneath my makeup in the mornings – i think at times it can be the make or break of how your foundation goes on!
        I definitely would choose Match Perfection over the Wake Me Up. For me the MP applies just amazingly every single time. I really want to repurchase again, I just can’t justify having a million foundations on the go at one time! x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh gosh I wholeheartedly agree Becca – before I used my moisturiser I was the dame with ALL foundations… it was ultimate hit or miss and then I ended up jumping about trying loads of different ones, which of course couldn’t be great for the skin 😦 Hopefully you’ll find a great one soon! I’m super excited to try this MP – do you use any other products with it such as setting powders etc? Xo

        Like

      • Exactly! I’m trying out the LUSH Vanishing Cream at the minute since it’s meant to be good at combatting oil, but I’m so bad at sticking to it so I can’t tell if it’s working quite yet 😛
        I always use the Rimmel Stay Matte powder. I find I do have to top it up throughout the day with any foundation I use, but I’ve never found a powder that lasts all day for me anyways! But it goes on nicely without looking cakey. x

        Liked by 1 person

      • lol – persistence pays off but you sound very similar to myself Becca, it’s sticking to these things to see if it works! 😀
        Must check it out – not sure how I’m going to get on with a powder but seeing as it’s Rimmel (and not bank breaking) I’d definitely give it a go! 😉 Thanks for recommending huni X

        Liked by 1 person

      • I like that price – Becca! Will definitely have to give it a go… oddly my skin is pretty dry (most days) but I’m finding that some days around my nose can get pretty oily. Very bizarre :-/ x

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve currently got a smashbox foundation and they’re honestly really good! Although a fair bit more than a Rimmel one. I’ve tried studio skin and liquid halo from them and find that studio skin gives better coverage and lasts longer on my combination skin! Plus the palest shade is actually pale enough for me 😊 I’ve had my bottle since October and so far I’m only about 1/4 of the way through so although the £20 price tag seems a lot they do last a long time!x

    Like

    • I’ve heard such good things about Smashbox – my friend is a huge lover of their primer – but it’s always been the price that’s put me off. I hate paying big money for stuff if I don’t like it. Maybe I’ll see if they can do me a sample or something, before paying full price!
      Thanks for the recommendation! x

      Like

  6. I was using this foundation before switching to BB cream. I managed to finish the bottle but I found that I got really really oily after a few hours even after using different setting powders! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I know what you mean. I find my chin does get really oily by the end of the day, but i’ve switched up my skin care lately and used a good primer and I found it lasted a lot better. I’ve never tried a bb cream – are there any you’d recommend?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes! My whole face gets really oily and I just felt like it was a little heavy on my skin. I’m really into Korean BB creams, I don’t think the ones in the Western market can even compare but I order off eBay since I can’t get my hands on it in stores. I really recommend Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream! 😀 I actually did a full review on it if you want to see: https://dorkchopsworld.wordpress.com/2015/02/05/review-missha-m-perfect-cover-bb-cream-natural-beige/ I don’t get oily AT ALL and that’s saying a lot because my skin is incredibly oily! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve never tried western bb creams because their light shades are just aren’t fair enough for my skin, though I’ve heard great things about the proper Korean brands. Thanks so much for the recommendation – I’ll definitely check out your review! x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh you’re going to love the Korean ones then! I think they’re spectacular in general! 😀 A lot of them are really fair so you won’t have any trouble at all finding the right shade for you! You’re welcome! ❤ ❤ It's the absolute best one I've tried so far!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I have been interested in trying a Rimmel Foundation. I have only tried the Stay Matte one but it wasn’t very suitable for my skin and I think it was better for oily skin types. I think the makeup look you created here is on my favorites! I am looking to try out a new foundation but I just can’t decide on which one yet lol. Thanks for the great review! ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Definitely try out the Match Perfection. It’s the only foundation I’ve ever been like ‘wow’ when I’ve put it on. I definitely need to powder on the more oily parts of my face but I do that anyways, and I think it just makes my skin look amazing! 😛
      Thanks so much. It’s one of my favourites too! 😀 Definitely feeling more creative with my makeup colours lately.
      Thanks for reading! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re so welcome Becca, I guess I just might have to try that one then, thanks for the recommendation!! ❤ xx

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Lovely post, the Rimmel Match Perfection foundation is one of my favourites but I’ve never tried this one or the Rimmel Wake Me Up one. x

    Like

      • I used to use the MAC Matchmaster which was about £25 at the time (now about £28), that’s the most i’ve ever spent. I repurchased it a couple of times, but I just can’t justify it if I prefer a £7 one better! I really want to try the Laura Mercier silk creme foundation! ):

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

