Life Update: Turning Over A New Leaf.

Hey there,

So…I need your help! If you read my post I wrote a little while ago for the Take Back Whats Yours campaign, you’ll know that I’ve always had problems with anxiety and a lot of that lead to really bad eating habits. I’ve always been dependant on food, and it’s always been what I turn to when I’m feeling down, or a treat for when I’ve done something that I’m proud of, and that’s just no good anymore. So basically, after reading another one of Leanne’s (from lifestyleforless) inspiring posts on her journey to loose 10% of her body fat in 10 weeks, I’m feeling super motivated, but I need you guys too. I’m thinking maybe if I do like a weekly series, you guys can give me tips, tricks and advice (as well as emotional support!) and we can get through this together! Maybe if any of you reading this are wanting to make a positive change towards becoming healthier and feeling better in your body, you can join in too?

The way I see it is that my mental health is, in a way, directly linked to my physical health. A friend of mine was talking about this in one of her blog posts and it got me thinking – this is so true for myself! Food has been a coping mechanism, but it’s a dangerous cycle of eating because you’re sad, but being sad because you ate too much or ate a load of crap! And I don’t see myself getting truly happy, and really allowing myself to love myself, until I’m physically happy with my body. 99% of the time you guys just see my face with a bunch of makeup slapped on, and whilst that is me and I don’t photoshop my images or anything, you only see such a small part of me and of course everyone is only going to put online what they feel confident with. My face is the thing I love most about myself, the rest of my body I hate, and no one should feel that way about themselves.

I’m thinking weekly posts on how the week went with food, exercise etc, and then goals for the coming week. I’ve got two weeks before I start my full time job (more to come on that later!) so I think that’s enough time to get into a decent routine!

Let me know what you think, and if you have any advice to get me started then I’d love to hear it! ❤


Talk to you later,
becca

 

48 thoughts on “Life Update: Turning Over A New Leaf.

  1. It’s great that you’re taking the initiative Becca! There’s so much advice out there, and I bet you’re going to receive a ton of it today. Have fun with it and don’t think it’ll happen overnight. I have that bad habit of wanting instant gratification, but lifestyle changes start to show up in the long term. Keep us posted!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good Luck Becca and good on you! I am also trying to cut down and start eating more healthily, we are all in this together, 2015 is the year for positive change 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a good idea – i was thinking about doing a similar blog series on the tea tox and my new healthy eating plan etc. It’ll be nice to do the journey with someone else – i too have mental health issues with my attitude towards food and feel like i wont be emotionally secure until im happy with my body. Organising my room and clearing out my life has helped with giving me a clear and positive mind but i think once i get in shape ill just feel even better. I’ve also found in the past that keeping a diary that includes what you eat, when you eat, when you exercise and how you feel when you eat, plus all the other emotional baggage – this clears your mind of negativity but also allows you to track patterns in your eating and realise your habits. I believe you can do it! We’ll all make it through with you and support you in the journey 🙂 best of luck xox

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! ❤ And I'm always here to support if you need it!
      That's a really great idea. I definitely will keep track of what I'm eating and what exercise I'm doing. At least then you can always look back at a good day and know you can do it! And it's that little bit of motivation too! 😛 xx

      Like

      • Also making a ‘fitspiration’ board, even if its just an A4 sheet of motivational quotes, strong women you look up to, etc etc on your wall or in the front of the diary is very useful, im making one right now to blog about next week 🙂 xx thank you!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I am a total stress eater and I have to say having been job hunting for months has been stressful. Plus having moved back home I got back into old habits – I can afford more take out and meals out plus I live somewhere where I really need to drive to go where I’m going whereas at uni I walked. I’ve completely undo all the hard work I did this time last year in losing a stone (& I never even reached my weight goal then).

    I found it 100 times easier to stick to better eating choices and go to the gym because my flatmate did it with me. I have made a step in the right direction though and started going to a dance class once a week. Next I need to start making healthier choices and start using my fitness pal again!

    Really like the idea of a weekly series, I have debated something similar! I need that emotional support big time!x

    Like

    • That’s definitely the same for me. I moved back home after uni and stopped doing any exercise and just got lazy. and felt really down because I didn’t have a job so just ate crap.
      I’d really want to do a dance or aerobics class once or twice a week or something, I just live in a tiny village and I don’t drive so its hard to get to them. Which is why I need to do my own exercise and I think help through blogging would be so good.
      It would be great if you want to join in! We could all do our own posts once a week, and offer each other help and advice, and motivation! Like our own online weight watchers meetings once a week! 😛 x

      Like

      • I want to do two classes a week too but I’m about to change to a full time job too (although not til March!) so I need to save money. I do have a pair of small weights I used to use to tone my arms so its time they came back out.

        I’m definitely in! Just need to get started properly x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well done on the job!
        I know it’s going to be difficult when I’m working 9-5 every day but even if it’s something small then i’ll be happy. Thats a great idea I’ve been seeing a bunch of small weights in the co op so I think I might grab some.
        YAY! We can definitely do this! ❤ x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks! Congrats to you on your job too! I’m going to have to drive about an hour to and from work so its going to take up a lot of my day but it will be worth it.
        Little weights dont cost much and theres a lot you can do with them just following routines online.
        I might try to do one of those 30 day squat/ab challenges again x

        Like

      • Thanks! It’s not a good job but its a job for now and I need money! 😛
        Yeah thats a good idea. I might even get something printed out and stuck up on my wall so you have to tick it off every day when you’ve done it. x

        Like

      • Well its still something! Have you decided what you want to do yet?

        Yeah thats what I was thinking as I always lose track of where I am otherwise x

        Like

      • No not at all! Hahah. I think when I move and am settled down again I want to look into doing something like a part time course in beauty or something. I’m just not sure.

        Yeah exactly. Apps are always good too. I have my yoga app that you can set to give you a reminder at a certain time on certain days. Its a bit of extra motivation too. x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh a beauty course would be good because then you’d get some new skills too and could work wherever you wanted.

        Oh thats good, I’ve not got any that give me reminders although my fitness pal does give me a notification if I dont use it that day if I’ve been using it reularly z

        Like

      • Yeah, I figure its something I love so I may as well explore the industry more and figure out if its something I’d want to do as a career.
        Its always helpful having little reminders! 😛 x

        Like

  5. Hey Becca, good on you for wanting to make a positive change. My advice would be to start small, don’t make too much of a change too quickly. I’m always here to lend an ear and happy to help out! Remember, you CAN do this! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Good luck with your goals my Dear. But first up, everything starts with the way you feel and look at yourself.
    If you look at you as a blob, you’ll keep being a blob. Our perceptions shape the world. Go in front of the mirror, look at you and think there’s no thing wrong with you. You’re ok and you can loose some weight to feel more Healthy and more actractive. But is your mind what makes you special. Not your weight.
    My advice is possibly to be followed by doctors and experts you can really trust. Both for your diet and the needed exercise. The best way to get shaped soon is to balance diet and movement, but the tendency to anxiety is also very important to consider. I would try an easy to follow routine, based on pilates and/or swim and lots of stretching to calm down and not stress the body too much. As regards food, try to find a good expert and stay aside from pills and the like. As well as from diary products, sugar, alcohol and fried stuff…this very basic cleaning could be a good starting point.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your advice. I will definitely take it all on board! I’ve started doing yoga every morning and already I feel so much better afterwards – not only in my body but also in my mind. Its just so relaxing and invigorating and it helps so much. I think I will go talk to a doctor, maybe get some advice on food because thats where I struggle. But I’m definitely going to majorly cut down on all the unhealthy snacks and sugary drinks.
      Thanks so much again!

      Like

  7. Hi Becca! I know exactly what you’re going through and how you feel. I am an emotional eater too. I pretty much eat my feelings. I love food and find it so comforting. I have been wanting to eat healthier to feel better about myself too but I just haven’t been able to get myself started, I have had so much stress and anxiety and of course the only comfort that I have and use is food. A couple of years ago, I joined a program called Weight Watchers. I don’t know if they have that there. It was a really great program and I lost 50 lbs from my highest weight. Though recently over the holidays I have gained some of it back and it just seems to keep going up. People might see my face online and in pictures and think oh she is so pretty but in person I am a bigger girl. Even though I was still overweight but when I weighed less than I do now I felt a lot more comfortable in my own skin. Lately, I feel like a blob. Trying to be healthy is such a hard thing to do when you have been doing things one way for so long. I would be happy to encourage and support you in this. You really just need to make small changes, a little bit at a time. Also, don’t deprive yourself of things you want to eat, just eat a smaller portion of it. Easier said than done I know lol. You’re a very beautiful person on the inside as well as the outside. Just try to keep in mind that things don’t change drastically overnight and that’s okay. I believe you can do it though and I am here as your friend to offer you my support and encouragement. Sorry this comment is so long!! I wish the best for you! 🙂 ❤ xo

    Like

    • I know exactly how you feel Katie! ❤ 'I feel like a blob' is literally the best way to explain it – I feel so bloated and sluggish sometimes and it's horrible! This is the biggest I've ever been and I've had to go up another dress size recently and it's crushing to your self-esteem. I've always been a bigger girl – I was always the 'chubby' kid, and that friend that the boys didn't fancy, and I can't do that anymore! It's hard to change after so long but we can do it together! 😀 Baby steps!
      And we do have weight watchers! theres another one called slimming world too, my mum used to go. I did think about joining a group but my friend from work didn't really rate it too much, and I recon these posts can sort of be like our own little bloggers weight watcher meetings! :p haha.
      and I love long comments 😉 haha. Thanks so much. I'm always here if you need me! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well I would be happy to try and lose weight with you 🙂 It really does help when you’re not alone doing it. I had my Mom to do the Weight Watchers with me too and we were always there to help each other out. I just need to stop eating so much junk food. My biggest downfall is sweets and also things like chips, maybe you guys call them crisps? Also it’s all too convenient to eat fast food here. I am known for doing that, always going through the drive-thru at McDonald’s lol. My boyfriend wants to lose weight too but I haven’t been a good influence on him lately lol. I think I will try to make better choices when it comes to what I eat and if there is something that’s not too healthy just have a smaller portion, eat in moderation. I have lost the weight before and I know I can do it and I know you can do it too! I’ve just been so depressed sitting around my apartment and eating, trying to just pass the time by. Ron went grocery shopping today and got us some groceries, we just got what we could really afford till Friday but on Friday when we go back to the store I will pick out some healthy things. So definitely count me in! Thank you so much for always being such a great and supportive friend! I’m always here too! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m the same, if I can manage to fit in the exercise I think i’ll be fine, because I do enjoy doing exercise when I do it, and I love that feeling afterwards. It’s just I have such a bad relationship with food now that it is my comfort!
        Yep crisps 😛 I’m not so bad with that stuff, for me its chocolate, fizzy drinks, and biscuits! But yeah, it was the same when I lived with my boyfriend, it’s really difficult to motivate yourself when they’re eating something so yummy 😛 haha. but it would be good if you could do it together too.
        I know we can do it! Well I’m always here for a chat if you need, I know time difference is a bitch but if I’m available I’m here for you!
        I think I’m going to go down to the shops and get some fruit and healthier choices in. I need to start thinking more about what I’m eating rather than snacking on rubbish, and eating loads of carbs!
        We can do it! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes we can do it!! I am actually awake late and it’s almost 2 am. I can’t sleep. I think I am more of a night owl than anything. But yes we can do it! I am going to step on the dreaded scale after I wake up and see what damage has been done. I haven’t weighed myself in a little bit. I’m scared!! lol. I mean I have idea of what it could be and it could be shockingly bad or pleasantly surprised! haha. Exercise is something that is hard for me to with my pain issues. Which is another part of my struggle with weight loss. Doctors say I have to lose weight mainly through diet. I have been such a slug lately though. Except for cleaning my kitchen just a little bit ago at 1 am lol. Same goes for you though, I am here too and we can support each other through this and check in with each other to see how we’re doing. 🙂 xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • I was the same last night.
        I weighed myself today for the first time in forever. I didn’t have a mental breakdown so I guess that’s a positive! haha. I think being able to track how much you loose is a good motivation and boost.
        Yeah I can imagine. I mean, I suffer with a bad back at times and that was really painful today, so I can’t imagine what you go through! Just be careful!
        We definitely will support each other! I’ve just done some good exercise, and I’m sweaty and horrible but I feel good! Got a meeting about my new job so better go shower! 😛 haha xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Glad to hear that you didn’t have a mental breakdown, that is always a good thing! 🙂 I just woke up, had some cheerios for breakfast with fat free milk so I am off to a good start. Good for you on the exercising!! Sorry to hear that it was painful for you. I might just be like that at first until you get used to it. Sorry to hear about your back too. Some of my worse pain tends to be in my lower back with the bulging disc. Anyway, good luck with your meeting for your new job!! 🙂 xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah it’s probably just going to be getting back into the swing of things. I think I just need to try and strengthen my lower back and core and it should help. (: thanks, it all went well! xx

        Liked by 1 person

  8. This is a great idea Becca! I’m definitely here for moral support 🙂 I know this is your personal journey but posting weekly goals is a really good plan, how would you feel if I did something similar? Or if there is something I could do along side you to support each other maybe? As I mentioned in conversations before I would definitely recommend short high intensity workouts you can do at home. I’ve been at the gym loads to stop me sitting around my flat because there’s not much to do here but just getting moving around in any way is a good way to start off I think.

    Like

    • Thanks G! I’m always here for you too. I kinda mentioned your blog in this post but I didn’t link because I didn’t know if you’d want me to. 😛
      But I’d love to do something together! Maybe we could do like weekly updates and stuff. I like how Leanne does hers (I linked it at the top). Or maybe we could think of certain challenges for each week for the both of us. I think it’ll be so beneficial to have support through this. ❤

      Like

      • Thanks! I don’t mind if you mention me, but I just didn’t want to jump on your thing either! I read Leanne’s post and it’s great she’s doing so well too, I think short term goals are definitely the way to go! I can definitely relate to eating when I’m feeling down kinda thing and having someone there to talk to instead would be super helpful for both of us I’m sure ❤

        Like

      • No no, I just didn’t want to be like ‘everyone go check out this blog!’ if you wanted to keep it more to yourself and personal.
        I weighed myself for the first time in years today! Was a little painful but at least I have a goal now, and I think when I can start to see I’m loosing weight it’ll be more motivation to me! (Hopefully!) x

        Like

      • That makes sense! But it’s cool, as long as people are supportive then the more the merrier! Eek, the first steps are tough but it will a good feeling when your hard work pays off. I haven’t weighed myself but I think I will when I go home in easter, hopefully by then there will be a nicer number on the scales! x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Eeee its so scary isn’t it?! haha.
        Yeah Im hoping to go to Madi’s wedding this november, so if I’m good I’ll be able to look fab in a swim suit! 😛 x

        Like

Leave a Reply

