Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette

Hey there!

This post was inspired by the lovely Katie at Plus+ Beauty after we got into one of our long comment chats on makeup! She was saying how she was making that big decision on which Naked palette she wanted to get so I figured why not put together a post with swatches and makeup looks to help people like Katie decide!

If you happen to have been living under a rock for the past however many years and don’t know what the Naked palettes are, they’re a selection of hugely popular eyeshadow palettes created by the brand Urban Decay that are all neutral based shadows, but all of the three have a different sort of ‘tone’ to them. The original is quite bronzy and warm toned; the Naked 2 (the palette I’m showing you today!) is more taupe neutrals and cool toned; and the newest the Naked 3, contains ‘rose gold’/pink toned neutrals. Being a super fair skinned girl I went for the second palette because I think it suits me best and I’m really glad of my choice. That’s not to say, of course, that it’s only for fair skinned girls, or that the other palettes won’t suit you if you do, I just found as my first higher end beauty purchase that this is the palette I found most comfortable to use personally. I’ve had this palette a couple of years now and I’ve used it almost every single day that I wear eyeshadow (only lately am I starting to branch out!) and you can make such a variety of makeup looks from day to night! So without further ado, I’ll jump on in!

IMG_6156

Unlike the original Naked palette, the Naked 2 (and 3) comes in a tin/metal container that snaps shut with little catches, and features a huge mirror, which I find makes it amazing for travelling. I’ve travelled with this palette a lot and I’ve never had a problem or any worry that anything is going to brake. The palette also comes with a double ended brush and a small sample version of one of their lip glosses (not featured).

IMG_6158 IMG_6159

Each palette comes with twelve shades, a mixture of matte and shimmer shades.

IMG_6160 IMG_6164

Foxy; cream bisque with matte finish (invisible on my skin!). Half Baked; golden-bronze with shimmer finish. Bootycall; shimmery cork. Chopper; copper shimmer with silver micro glitter. Tease; creamy pale brown with matte finish. Snakebite; dark bronze shimmer with metallic base.

IMG_6161 IMG_6166

 Suspect; pale golden beige with shimmery finish. Pistol; light greyish brown with shimmery finish. Verve; oyster with shimmery finish. YDK; cool bronze shimmer with metallic base. Busted; deep brown with shimmery finish. Blackout; blackest black with matte finish.

And also to give a better idea of the looks you might create with this palette, I’ve been putting together a few makeup looks throughout the week!

IMG_6093 IMG_6094 IMG_6097

This first look is a really nice golden look that would probably work better on someone with a warmer undertone, but I still love to rock it. It’s one of those eyeshadow looks that you can take from day to night just as it is, or maybe smoking it out a little more. I used ‘Half Baked’ all over the lid, blended ‘Snakebite’ through the crease, my favourite ‘Bootycall’ to highlight the brow bone and inner corner, then a little ‘Suspect’ on the lower lash line. I finished with gel liner (and of course mascara) because that’s the kind of look I like – but it could work without! I paired this look with Mehr lipstick by MAC.

IMG_6129 IMG_6134 IMG_6135

This is one of my favourite looks I’ve created from this palette and always recreate it! It’s such a shame the photos aren’t doing this shade justice! I started by using the NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in ‘Bronze’ as a base for the lid – this is mostly because the lid colour I’m using can fall out a lot, and so this will help it ‘stick’ better, but also because I find it makes the colour much stronger and deeper. On top of the Bronze, I patted on YDK, layering it until I had a nice opaque look. I blended ‘Busted’ into the crease and outer lower lash line, before again highlighting the brow bone and inner corner with ‘Bootycall’. For the lower lash line I added a little bit of ‘Chopper’ to the inner two thirds, blending it into the ‘Busted’. This time I used a black kohl pencil on the upper lash line, as close to the lashes as I could, and smudged it out just to create a darker look (though you could do the same with the shade ‘Blackout’) before adding mascara. I paired this eye look with Blankety by MAC.

IMG_6148 IMG_6149 IMG_6150

This one is so so simple, and one I definitely wear the most. It’s perfect for every day, or work, or any time you’re in a rush because it’s so quick to recreate! Basically, all I did was took ‘Bootycall’ all over the lid and up to the brow bone, the used ‘Tease’ to contour in the crease, and that’s it! I added a thick winged liner today, but for work I might just skip this step and go straight to mascara, or maybe i’ll smudge out a little bit of ‘Busted’ on the outer third of the lash line. Again I paired it with Blankety for a super casual look, but it also looks great with a super bold lip, like MAC’s Impassioned, or a red lip would look amazing too!


So I hope this post was helpful to someone, and that you enjoyed my looks. Let me know if you’ve tried the Naked palette which one you have, and if not, which one you think you might get! Also, would you try these makeup looks?

Talk to you later!
becca

33 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette

  1. I really want this palette along with the others! I wanted in that massive limited edition box but couldn’t get round to getting it aah. Also, I love the looks you did. Makes me want to get the palette even MORE! eek

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for the mention! 😀 I really, really enjoyed this post! You did such a fantastic job with it! I am a total convert and am definitely set on getting the Naked 2. Thank you so much Becca! This palette looks great and seems so versatile! I love the looks you came up with as well. You look absolutely beautiful! ❤ xo

    Liked by 1 person

      • Oh it will be so much fun to get to play around with this palette! I don’t know if I can’t till my birthday in April to ask for it. Thanks again hun! ❤ xx

        Like

    • Hahah, this is the only Naked palette I have and I adore it! Was tempted by the Naked 1, but I just bought a Stila palette 😛 couldnt help myself since I managed to get it for £20! x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks the only grumble I have about the Naked Palettes is the price Becca – they really are expensive, even though they are indeed amazing!!! Have yet to try the Stila but it’s on my list – fingers crossed someday soon 🙂 x Ps: what a steal for £20!!!

        Like

      • Exactly! I got the Naked 2 as a birthday present to myself a few years ago, but £37 is a lot to pay and hard to justify! I got the In The Light palette, it was on Beautybay. Usually they’re £25, but they were in the sale for about £23 and I got 10% off because it was my birthday so it was like £20.02! Not bad! I’m sure i’ll post swatches sometime soon! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Glad I’m not the only one who feels it’s a little OTT for a palette… some of the dupes are really quite amazing for a much less price. Don’t get me wrong I love it but it’s just so costly!! Will keep a look out for the In The Light palette, yes do post some swatches when you get a chance 🙂 X

        Like

  3. Love this post! I chose the Naked 2 when I bought mine too and I use mine almost every day (especially Tease through the crease). Have you ever tried using a little bit of Foxy to set your under eye concealer? The yellow toned-ness is really highlighting 🙂 Also what camera do you use to take your photos/what’s the trick? You look amazing! xx

    Like

    • Thanks! I literally use Tease and Bootycall all the time – hence why I’ve hit pan! I’ve not use it like that, but I definitely will try it, I never even thought of using Foxy that way! Thanks for the advice.
      Truthfully I just use my iPhone (5s) camera! 😛 I just make sure the lighting is really good, because that’s when you get super nice crisp photos. And making sure the light is always in front of you rather than behind/from the side.
      Thanks so much ❤ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

