Simple Chocolate Buttercream Sponge Cake

Hey there!

So baking is something I’ve never featured on my blog before, but it really is one of my favourite things to do! When I lived in my own place I had a cupboard constantly full of baking supplies, and baked something at the very least once or twice a month, yet since I moved home I haven’t baked anything! So I popped down to the shops, stocked up on various sugars and flours, and decided to make a basic sponge sandwich cake that I’ve been making since I was a child.

Today I went for a plain sponge, sandwiched and topped in chocolate buttercream, and sprinkled with Cadbury’s Flake chocolate. Super simple yet super yummy!

Sponge ingredients;
175g butter
175g caster sugar
175g self-raising flour
3 large eggs

Preheat oven to 180-190’C/350-375’F (Gas mark 4/5). Start by creaming together the sugar and butter in a large bowl. Whisk the three eggs, and sift your flour, then bit by bit add a small amount of the whisked eggs and a small amount of flour. Mix and repeat. (I think you’re meant to do all the egg in stages, then all the flour in stage, but I think by adding a bit of each you stop it from curdling.) Then for fairy cakes simply spoon into the cake cases, or for a large sandwich cake, split the mixture between two 8″ greased cake tins and bake for approximately 18 minutes (or until firm to the touch). Allow to cool before adding any buttercream/decoration.

IMG_6103 IMG_6106 IMG_6107 IMG_6108 IMG_6109 IMG_6110 IMG_6111 IMG_6112 IMG_6113 IMG_6114

Chocolate buttercream ingredients;*
85g butter
175g icing sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 tablespoon milk (though I think I added a little extra)

*Enough to make ‘2 cups’ – I don’t speak ‘American’ so I really don’t know how much that is but it was enough to fill and top my cake generously!

Basically I started by creaming together the butter and icing sugar again, then added the cocoa powder once it has started to come together. Then by adding a bit of milk it makes it go creamy as opposed to being very dry and you’ll find it’ll start mixing together a lot better.

Quick tip; I find that if you ‘shave’ off the slightly domed top of the bottom half of your cake (where your buttercream will go on top for the centre) it gives it a more flat and textured surface, and stops the buttercream from sliding out the middle.

I also crumbled up one Cadbury’s Flake bar into the buttercream for a more crunchy texture, and the second was used to decorate the top. Once you’ve filled and topped your cake, I’d recommend popping it into the fridge for a little while to allow the buttercream to harden slightly.

IMG_6115 IMG_6122 IMG_6125 IMG_6126 IMG_6127


This basic sponge recipe is what I use as the basis for every sponge cake/fairy cakes that I make – you can so easily change it around by adding chocolate chips to the sponge batter, filling it with buttercream and jam, using a store bought frosting – whatever you want! I know the presentation isn’t quite on point, and I didn’t ice the sides because I couldn’t be bothered, but I don’t claim to be a pro and when it’s only for yourself and your family it’s okay for it to look ‘rustic’! I got a resounding ‘yum’ from the family, and mum even said, and I quote, ‘this is the best buttercream I ever had!’. I guess I’ll be making this one again!

Also, apologies for not having a decent picture of it as a whole – it was late at night and I have a family of scavengers!

I hope you enjoyed this and let me know if you’d like to me to feature stuff like this again in the future, and also what are your favourite things to bake! (I make a pretty mean cheesecake!)

Talk to you later!
becca

18 thoughts on “Simple Chocolate Buttercream Sponge Cake

  1. OMG I want a piece of cake now! lol. It looks so delicious! I love baking too. I think I might make some peanut butter cookies tonight now lol. 🙂 xo

    Like

    • Haha I just love cake!! 😛 Oooh I think I need to learn how to bake peanut butter cookies – my boyfriend would love them, though I do not like peanut butter! hehe (controversial, I know!) Maybe I could make half peanut butter and half Nutella?! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks delicious! I love the way you put all the photos together – it’s like a delicious cake montage! I love baking, it’s so relaxing! Well, most of the time… x

    Like

Leave a Reply

