Cosmetics Clear Out

Hey there!

So by no means do I have a large makeup collection (being a penniless postgrad means you generally have to spend monies wisely and use up your products!) but there still comes a point in every beauty addict/hoarders life where she just has to have a clean out. No way do I need gloopy nail polishes, foundations that don’t match, and minuscule remainders of eyeliners that time forgot, and to be honest I just really don’t have the space to keep stuff that I don’t use. Plus, I’m one of those neat freaks that has to have everything organised and in its place, and I just can’t deal with this mess any longer!

To start with; my lipsticks and nail polishes. Now nail polishes are one thing I am good at keeping on top of. As soon as its dried up or too sticky and solid to apply – out it goes! I have less of an attachment to my nail polishes than I do my makeup so in this instance there was only one more polish that just had to go. Unfortunately it was one of my favourites; Chelsea Embankment by Nails Inc, a beautiful opaque gold glitter that I actually used up completely!

IMG_6019Current nail polish and lipstick storage

Now lipsticks, that’s another matter. If you read this post where I talked about depotting my MAC lipsticks, I mentioned I have an unhealthy relationship with my lipsticks. I’d don’t have a crazy massive collection by ‘beauty guru’ standards but it’s still probably more than one girl needs. Since I definitely won’t be getting rid of any of these, I have ordered one of those acrylic lipstick organisers and I’m waiting for it to arrive, this way they can be kept on my bedside table and I can find shades much easier – I’m hoping this means I get more use out of a larger selection of my shades. If I like this way of storing things I do plan on getting a nail polish version as well!

IMG_6020Now this is my makeup bag with the stuff I generally use every day.

IMG_6021IMG_6022AndΒ this is my Sanctuary Spa wash bag that houses all the stuff I really don’t use very often. There’s still a lot in here that I will use, and probably just needs sorting better so that I remember I actually have it, but there is a lot that can be chucked. Below is a photo of what didn’t make the cut!

IMG_6023Two foundations, four mascaras, two lip balms, two concealers, one brow pencil, and one kohl liner.

I only have one makeup brush that I’m going to chuck, and that’s my (once beautiful) Eco Tools powder brush. It’s dusty, old and forgotten, scratchy and burnt. Note to reader: don’t blow dry your brushes to speed up the drying process. Young, naive Becca thought that would work. The results were horrible.

As for my next clear out task, well that this horrifying shambles of a box. This is all my body/bath bits, and at the back is the more boring bits like contact lens solution, pain killers, and cough medicines – and as you can see it’s in desperate need of organisation. But that’s a job for another day.

IMG_6024 IMG_6025


Whilst I’m not going to go crazy on buying storage for all of my beauty/cosmetics products just yet because I’m planning on moving in with my boyfriend sometime around the summer (fingers crossed), I would like some suggestions on small things I can get, or ideas on how I can better organise these bits! Also, I’m in desperate need of a way to store my eyeshadow palettes – so if you have any ideas do let me know. Please leave suggestions/ideas in the comments, it would be much appreciated! And do let me know how you store your beauty products – because I’m nosy and love to know!

Talk to you later!
becca

 

38 thoughts on “Cosmetics Clear Out

  1. Loved this post, especially the blowdrying your brushes part. Can definitely relate to that haha, don’t go there!
    This has reminded me to have a clear out of my stash. I need to do it more often, gone-off makeup can’t be great for your skin! x

    Like

    • I’m the same! There’s a few more MAC lipsticks I’m after that are coming out soonish, but I’m thinking when I’ve got them of doing a MAC lipstick collection, and a ‘everything else’ lipstick collection if people would want to see that? x

      Like

  2. Fantastic post Becca – I’ve been needing to clear out my make-up storage too… it’s just getting the time to actually sit down and get it done! *grrrr* lol I’d highly recommend you pop to your nearest Ikea store as they do a gorgeous range of storage boxes in all shapes & sizes that are perfect for storing make-up and beauty products! I’m off there this week for a few things myself, I’d addicted to the place! lol Karen xo

    Like

    • I know what you mean! Sometimes I just look at everything and I’m like, ‘I’ll do it another day!’ πŸ˜›
      I bloody love Ikea!!! haha. I definitely will go when I get the chance – nearest Ikea is an hours drive away. ): I’m hoping to convince my boyfriend to take me to the one he lives near in Tottenham this weekend. Doubt he’ll go for it though! haha. xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Isn’t it amazing?! I’m never out of it for candles & storage stuff!! Good luck convincing your bf huni… it’s not every mans haven that’s for sure!! You might be able to lure him if you treat him to lunch after though πŸ˜‰ lol x

        Like

      • It so is! I’m a crazy candle lady so every time I go I buy like a zillion packs of their scented tea lights. The vanilla selection, and the berry selection are just to die for!
        Maybe he could be persuaded with some Ikea meatballs! haha. x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Heck we are sooo alike – I dread to think of the spending we could do in that place!! lol Yep, lure him with the meatballs… he’ll never resist haha X

        Like

  3. I need to do a clean out soon too. Like you, I don’t mind getting rid of nail polish but my makeup I am more attached to it lol. I would love to get a lipstick holder as well. I can’t really think of any great ideas on how to organize though. I am sure there are plenty of good ones on Pinterest. πŸ™‚ xo

    Like

    • Hahah, glad I’m not the only one!
      I feel like such an old lady trying to use Pinterest – I just don’t get it! Like Karen mentioned, I think I’m going to do an Ikea trip and see what they have.
      But I’ll let you know what I think of the lipstick holder when I get it! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah definitely! I would love to have a lipstick holder just for my MAC lipstick lol. I am completely the opposite of neat and organized right now. Plus I just got a bunch of packages in the mail with even more stuff to deal with lol. Go Katie! haha. ❀

        Like

      • Hahah, me too! I have about 15 so it’s going to fill over half of my 24 space lipstick holder! Maybe I should have bought two thinking about it!
        I almost ordered a bunch of NYX stuff tonight after seeing a review on the Taupe blush as a great contour shade – luckily for my bank balance so much stuff was out of stock on the UK website. Like literally all of the matte lip creams were out of stock which is what I really wanted too /: xx ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah my bank account has suffered this month lol. I just got the Lovelorn in the mail the other day and plan on doing a post on it soon. Such a beautiful shade of pink! I love it! I have been wanting that Taupe blush too! I did pick up a couple of new makeup items at the store today though. I got the new Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara that gives the full fan effect and the Milani Baked Blush in Rose D’oro or something like that lol. I can never go to the store and not get something haha. I have tried the Nyx Matte Lip Cream and its really nice! I have the shade Abu Dhabi. It’s very nice! Maybe I should review that one too lol. I have so much stuff that can be reviewed its crazy! ❀ xo

        Like

      • Yess! I can’t wait to see how it looks on you – I’m sure its beautiful!
        I’d love to see any NYX reviews you have. I love what i’ve tried so far (a couple of jumbo eye pencils and a mega shine gloss), but we don’t get them in stores over here so I have to order online and go off of swatches I see online, which kinda sucks. But I really want to try the Matte Lip Creams, so any suggestions you have would be fab! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! I really love the Nyx Powder blush in Bittersweet as well. I have quite a few of the Butter glosses which are always nice! I have quite a few of the jumbo eye pencils, my most recent purchase was their matte lipstick in Alabama which is a gorgeous red color! Nyx is such a great brand! I really want to try more of their products, oh and before I forget I have their HD concealer in Porcelain. I have been wondering what their foundation is like too. ❀

        Like

      • Yeah I either go to my local CVS drugstore, Target, Ulta, or sometimes I have ordered online when they’re having a good deal or something. I can’t wait to see what you decide on though. Next month I can’t go too crazy with my spending because I am going to try to save for another trip back home in the spring. It’s going to be hard to save! lol. πŸ™‚ xo

        Like

      • I know I need to start serious saving come February! I’ve got loads to save for! haha.
        I like the look of the Antwerp, San Paulo, and Amsterdam matte lip creams. Just wish we didn’t have to pay more for them! haha. xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • I will have to check those shades out. Yeah it’s not fair that you have to pay more. Though I have been thinking about making an order through Makeup Revolution sometime. I don’t know when but eventually. πŸ™‚ xo

        Like

      • Yeah definitely. Us British are used to it now! πŸ˜› haha. I do love Makeup Revolution so I recommend it. There’s so much more I want to try of theirs – especially that bigger palette I shared on my fb page a little while back, and their cream highlighter palette. Basically everything! πŸ˜›
        x

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Muji have a great range of acrylic storage boxes in all shapes and sizes, I have the 3 drawer one which is great although I could do with one with deeper drawers. It will fit lipsticks and compacts but not some of my chunkier products like certain nail varnishes etc so for those kinds of things it might be worth going for a bigger one. http://www.muji.eu/pages/online.asp?Sec=9&Sub=39 xo

    Like

    • Hey gurrrrl ❀ πŸ˜‰
      Yeah I've heard of Muji but never really checked them out – I definitely shall do now though. Thanks!

      PS…
      Guess what?! I applied for my provisional driving license today!!!! I'm a big girl now! xx

      Like

      • No problem – I could spend so much money in there if I got carried away. Their candles are also lovely!
        Oooh exciting! You gonna start learning to drive? xx

        Like

      • I’ve been waaay to spendy lately. Just bought a coat from new look that’s like a light spring time coat – I obviously have no use for it in january in the UK unless I want to freeze my tits off. But it was pale pink and I had to have it!
        Maybe, I’m thinking move out then learn to drive, but they’ve gone down from Β£50 to Β£34 so I didn’t want the price to go back up again. Watch out drivers of England, Becca will be on the roads – eventually!!! xx

        Like

  5. I love acrylic storage for organising my makeup, it keeps everything organised and neat looking πŸ™‚ I just have my eyeshadow palettes stacked up next to my acrylic drawers but you can buy acryllic drawers for them or I have seen quite a few people use letter racks to put them in which is another idea.

    Like

    • Yeah I love the look of the acrylic stuff. Can’t wait to get my lipstick holder, I just hope it suits the purpose. Oooh that sounds like a good idea. Mine are just wedged down the side of my makeup bag at the minute, I’m scared somethings going to fall and break!
      Thanks darling! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

