I Heart MAC

Hey there!

So for christmas my boyfriend, his mother, and his sister all chipped in and got me a gift card for MAC Cosmetics, and how else was I going to spend it but on lipsticks?! I thought I’d share with you the two shades I chose because they’re two I’d never even thought of buying before, and which definitely weren’t on my list (yes I have a list!).

IMG_5896 IMG_5897 IMG_5898

First up is Mehr. A matte finish sort of medium pink that on me leans towards berry/beige tones, and described by MAC as ‘dirty blue-pink’

IMG_5957IMG_5900

For me this lipstick is perfect for everyday, and is way more ‘sophisticated’ that I usually wear. This is my grown up lipstick! It exactly the sort of colour I was looking for – everyone is going crazy for Velvet Teddy at the minute, and I love it, but for me I think it’s way too brown (I’m still yet to try it though!), so this is my current version of Velvet Teddy (i.e. my Kylie Jenner lip!) Despite being a matte finish I was surprised at how creamy this lipstick is! I’ve had MAC mattes in the past (the likes of Ruby Woo and Pink Plaid) which I found a lot more drying and chalky, but Mehr is just lovely – both to apply and to wear. It lasted for a decent few hours without needing to be touched up, and more faded away than left you with that dreaded ‘lip liner effect’. I’ve worn this shade a few times already and it looks just perfect both with a more dramatic eye, or a simple eye look.

IMG_5959 IMG_5960

Next is a red; Viva Glam 1, an ‘intense brownish blue-red’ (got to love MAC shade descriptions!). As described, this is a blue toned red, but compared to the likes of more true blue toned reds such as ‘MAC Red’, Viva Glam 1 has that gorgeous brown undertone to it. If you don’t know about Viva Glam, it’s a range of lipsticks that MAC first created back in 1994 to help to raise money for AIDS funds – all money bar VAT going to charity. There are six permeant shades, but MAC will often come out with celebrity collaborations with limited edition Viva Glam lipsticks each year (the latest being Rihanna, and the new Miley Viva Glam is set to come out very soon!). Funnily enough, my first ever MAC lipstick was a Viva Glam lipstick, the Viva Cyndi to be precise, back in 2010!

IMG_5955 IMG_5956

Just like Mehr, Viva Glam 1 is super creamy and super pigmented, in fact, I think I’ve found my new favourite red lip! It’s bold, but sophisticated, and super wearable for during the day. Again, it’s going to look great with a simple cat eye, or even more dramatic eye looks. I haven’t worn this one properly yet but I am very much looking forward to it!

IMG_5966 IMG_5968

IMG_5964Swatches. Left; Mehr. Right; Viva Glam 1

Overall I am so happy with my choices. I ordered online and took a risk on two shades I’d never seen in person before, and had never really heard anyone talk about! But it paid off and I just know I’m going to be wearing these a lot.


So that’s it! I hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know what you think of these shades. Are you a lipstick fan? Do you have a favourite MAC lipstick, or have you got a shade you’ve been lusting after?! Let me know in the comments!

Also, don’t forget to like my new Facebook page (here) and my new twitter account (here) if you’d like!

Talk to you later!
becca

36 thoughts on “I Heart MAC

  1. Hey Becca, this is my first visit to your blog and I’m really enjoying it. Have never encountered Mehr before but I’m totally going to try it now – am always on the hunt for a lipstick that’s the right mix of pink and brown 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you very much I’m glad you stopped by! (:
      I hadn’t either but isn’t it just beautiful?! Usually I stick to my red lip but I wanted something more every day suitable and classy, and Mehr is just everything! ❤

      Like

  2. Mehr is one I hadn’t thought of getting before, but the colour is gorgeous! Really excited to try it – a girl can never have too many lipsticks 😉 by the way, the colour really suits you! x

    Like

    • You definitely should! It’s so creamy and easy to apply and after a few hours it feels little drier, but it doesn’t get anymore uncomfortable and it doesn’t give your lips a sort of ‘stiff’ feeling. It is lovely and matte without being chalky and I think it’ll suit so many people! The longest I’ve worn it was on new years eve this year and it lasted so well definitely 4/5 hours and still looking good. Like I said in my post, it more fades away than wipes off so even if you do leave it a bit (I reapplied maybe twice between 6:30pm and 1:30am) it won’t look bad!
      Thankyou so much, hun ❤ I'll be posting soon!

      Like

  3. I love both of those shades on you! I am thinking I would like Viva Glam I now lol, I have Viva Glam II so why not haha. MAC lipsticks are the best!! ❤ 🙂 xoxo

    Like

  4. Those lipsticks both look like lovely colours. I got given a couple of MAC lipsticks for Christmas- Please Me (a bright pink) and Midimauve (deep pink/brown). I’ve wanted MAC products for a while now and I’m very happy with what I’ve got. I’ve also got an eyeshadow pallet with 4 neutral/brown shades which I picked out, as I too received a gift card.

    Like

    • Thank you!
      I have been eyeing up Please Me for quite a while too! haha. I’d never heard of Midimauve but I’ve just googled it and its beautiful! ❤ MAC products can be expensive but from what I've tried, in particular their lipsticks, I really do love them. The quality is hard to beat for the price in comparison to a lot of high end lipsticks which can cost like £25.

      Like

  5. Mehr is the first MAC lipstick I ever bought, and I love it! I’m not sure if it’s why they named it, but “mehr” also means “more” in German.

    Like

  6. They are both really beautiful shades! mehr is lovely on you, the finish looks very nice and I can see it being quite versatile! ^_^ enjoy your lipsticks! Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

