De-Potting My MAC Lipstick

Hello, my name is Becca and I’m a lipstick addict.

I must admit that I have an unhealthy addiction and relationship with my lipsticks. I have more than I need and even if I never wear them, don’t like them, or if they’re pretty much finished up, I just can’t get rid of them. But since I only needed one more empty MAC item to make 6 for a Back 2 MAC, I took the plunge and decided to de-pot my once much loved lipstick Pink Plaid that was now completely levelled out. I must say before I show you how I did it, I apologise for the poor photo quality; it’s winter in England and it’s dark by about 4-4:30pm. Plus our lights blew for the entire upstairs so it’s basically pitch black up there! Anyways, let’s get started!

IMG_5491
To do this I used a deep metal spoon, a pair of tweezers, an empty pot for which my lipstick would now be in, and a tea light. Because I only have the one lipstick to depot I just used an empty sample pot I’d got from a visit to LUSH that I’d cleaned out (and still smells like the beautiful American Cream!), but you can buy the Pro Palettes and a lipstick insert from MAC if you have a whole bunch to do.

IMG_5492

All that it took was to scrape out the remainder of the lipstick using the end of the tweezers (it was the only thing I could find small enough!) and put it into the spoon (making sure it’s a deep spoon so it won’t spill over if you have a lot of lipstick). Then I held it over the lit tea light until it melted. For me this didn’t take long because there wasn’t much lipstick left – perhaps about a minute or so – but just be careful because the spoon will obviously get hot!

IMG_5493 IMG_5494 IMG_5495

Once it’s completely melted down all you have to do is slowly pour the lipstick into your new pot and leave it to set! It really is that simple.

IMG_5497 IMG_5498

For mine is also peeled off the (barely readable) label from the bottom of my lipstick tube, and stuck it to the lid of my new pot, so I could easily tell what was in it.


Of course there are plenty of super quick and easy tutorials on YouTube for how to do this too. I’m one of those people who prefer to keep their lipsticks in the tube and I apply straight from the bullet anyways, but if it’s un-usable in that way like mine was, you may as well de-pot it since it’s one more item closer to a free lipstick! Of course I’ll be sure to post about what lipstick I get from Back 2 MAC as well as a mini review on the items I’m returning – so stay tuned for that!

Hope you enjoyed this post!

Talk to you later!
becca

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “De-Potting My MAC Lipstick

  1. Okay this is such a great post Becca! I am definitely going to share it on my Facebook blog page! I am looking forward to seeing your next post! 🙂 ❤ xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

