Get Ready for Autumn #7 – October Favourites

Hello there!

Hope you all had a lovely spook-tastic Halloween! I was hoping to post a makeup look this week for Halloween but I actually ended up getting a scratch on my eye which led to an eye infection, meaning I couldn’t wear my contacts or any eye makeup. Thankfully I’m feeling much better now and have finished my course of antibiotics, so will hopefully be able to post the look some time this week. Back to this post! Since we’ve now had an entire month of proper autumn time I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite things from this past month.

Black Knitted Jumper

IMG_5383 IMG_5386

In case you hadn’t realised already, I love knitted jumpers. My newest one was bought on a complete whim in the sense that I wasn’t out clothes shopping – I was food shopping at ASDA. I found this black knitted jumper in their George clothes section for only £12 so I picked it up knowing it would be perfect for days at work when it gets a lot colder. It’s a looser but super soft knit, is really warm and comfy, and I love it already – absolutely perfect for the colder autumn/winter months!

Taylor Swift “1989”

IMG_5387

This one is a favourite from the very end of month, but I couldn’t not include it. This album is amazing. On first listen I was a bit undecided; it didn’t sound like the Taylor I knew and loved. However, after a full listen through of the album I was in love. I keep finding new favourites on every listen, but right now a few that stand are; “I Know Places”, “Wildest Dreams”, and “Style”. If you’re a Taylor fan I urge you to go get this album. It’s a new and exciting pop sound that has been in the making since the release of “I Knew You Were Trouble”, but this time around it feels like she’s grown up as an artist, and like this is the true Taylor Swift.

LUSH American Cream conditioner

IMG_5388

Oh, a LUSH favourite. Quelle surprise, eh?! If you want your hair to smell like sweet strawberries and cream then you just need this conditioner! Not only does it make your hair super smooth and silky, but I’m constantly swishing my hair about to get a whiff of the scent. Holy baby Jesus, I literally can’t explain how nice it makes your hair smell. This conditioner has fresh strawberries for scent and softening, and lanolin – a natural smoothing and conditioning alternative to the silicon used in a lot of other conditioners. As you can see, after trying a sample I went straight for the 500g bottle. Sorry not sorry.

MAC “MAC Red” Lipstick

IMG_4352Remember when my hair was this lovely and blonde and ashy?! *cries*

I’ve spoken about this lipstick many times before – most recently in my GRFA post on my favourite autumn lipsticks – but this month I have been wearing it a lot! I’ve somewhat rediscovered it and I’ve never had so many compliments on a lipstick! It really is a perfect red for me, and like one of my work colleagues said “blondes and red lipstick go so well together – you know what you’re doing!”. It’s a satin finish, so super pigmented and not too shiny/glossy, but not as drying or tough to apply as a matte finish. If you’re ever at a MAC counter do check out “MAC Red”, I feel it gets over-looked for the more popular “Ruby Woo” and “Russian Red” shades, but I’m a fan of good ol’ “MAC Red”!

Fluffy Socks

IMG_5390

Now this is an autumn/winter essential that I’m so glad I have back in my life. During the colder months I live in fluffy socks, and literally wear them into the ground – I can guarantee I will have another pair or two of these waiting for me under the christmas tree! I’m definitely not a slipper kind of person, so fluffy socks/slipper socks make the perfect alternative, and a great stocking filler!

Nivea Lip Butter “Blueberry Blush”

IMG_5393

And with the colder months brings horrible chapped/dry lips. I’m a huge fan of the Nivea lip butters and have been through many a tin of the ‘Vanilla and Macadamia’, and ‘Raspberry Rosé’ varieties, and when I saw the new ‘Blueberry Blush’ scent I had to try it out (it was also half price at Wilkos!). I must say I like this one a lot more than I thought I would, however I find it reminds me a lot of a scent The Body Shop would sell – that sort of uber artificially fruity scent. Either way, these lip butters are super nourishing, smell lovely, and keep my lips smoothy smooth! What more could you want?!

YouTube Favourite: RT Podcast

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 14.58.37

Again, I have spoken about my love for the RT Podcast before – right back on my second(ish) post I ever published! – but this month I have watched so much of this podcast I’ve actually caught up with them, and now I have to wait week for week for a new one to come out. So sad. This podcast is by the company Rooster Teeth who have a huge YouTube channel, and if you’re into gaming I am assuming you’ve heard of them. However, their podcast is just a bunch of them chatting about current news, science-y things, and general things happening in their life, and is so damn funny. This podcast has actually been a life-saver this week when I’ve been stuck in my bed with the curtains closed because it hurt too much to even open my eyes! I could just lay down, stick on a podcast, and listen for an hour and a half to two hours, and just have a little giggle.


So there is a few of my autumny favourites from the past month. Let me know in the comments what some of your random favourites are! I would love to know. And don’t forget to check out my previous posts of this series:

GRFA 1 – Nails
GRFA 2 – Knitted Jumpers
GRFA 3 – The Autumn Tag
GRFA 4 – Lipstick
GRFA 5 – Lazy Day Essentials
GRFA 6 – Bronzed Makeup Look

Talk to you later!
becca

 

17 thoughts on “Get Ready for Autumn #7 – October Favourites

  1. I really like your blog, your posts are all so beautiful 🙂 I just followed you, it would be great if we could support each other! I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

  2. I love that sweater! It looks so cozy and is definitely LUSH approved ;). I’ve been on the hunt for black and white clothing since I started.. Figures once I’m actively looking I can’t find anything I like haha. ALSO- 1989 has been on repeat since I downloaded it last week!! Style, Blank Space and Welcome to New York are my current favs. I really just can’t get enough :P. Great post, thanks for sharing xox

    Like

    • It is so cosy! and yes – LUSH approved! hahah! I know what you mean though. Whenever I’m trying to find something specific I can never find what I want. But when I have no money it’s like theres absolutely everything that I just NEED! 😛
      Ugh it’s so good, isn’t it?! I’m so in love with it! Rekindling the flame of love I hold for Taylor Swift. Hahah.
      Thanks so much! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yay! I can’t wait I am so excited for you! I will let you in on a little secret. I finally choose the shades that I want to get next and ordered them online and they will be sent to my Mom’s house in Michigan which is good in a way because that’s where I will be when they arrive and it’s lower sales tax in that state lol. I couldn’t choose just one shade 😉

        Like

    • I love RT! Me and my boyfriend sort of got into it together. He used to watch Rage Quit and it kind of started from there. We watch a lot of Achievement Hunter together, but only watch it together so we’re not watching anything whilst we’re not living together. So we’ll have a lot to catch up on when we move in in the new year! hahah. x

      Like

Leave a Reply

