On Wednesdays We Wear Pink

For my mum; who lost her mother at age 13.
And for my Aunty Sue; the wonderful woman who I never got the chance to properly know.

Hey there.

Today’s post is going to be a makeup look with a bit of a twist. You may think of October as the month for Halloween and for all thing autumny, but it’s also Breast Cancer Awareness Month. After seeing the gorgeous Katie from Plus+ Beauty do a beautiful pink/breast cancer awareness inspired makeup look I knew I just had to do my own. Breast cancer kills so many, and I have lost women in my own family, so to do my little piece to raise awareness is the least I can do. Breast cancer affects men and women alike, so please know the signs. Do check out these links/links for more information, but for now, this is my pink inspired makeup look.

breast-cancer-awareness-month


For this look I’ve used the Urban Decay Vice 2 palette since there’s a couple of gorgeous pink shades that I’ve had my eye on for a while, yet didn’t really have an opportunity to use! I’ll skip my face products as it’s mostly the same as all other looks I’ve done, yet i’ll list the products used at the end.

vice 2

To make sure the pink really popped, I started by using the NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in ‘Milk’ as a base – this also helps the eye colours stick really nicely and last all day long! Then I began by placing the light pink shade ‘X-Rated’ all over the lid, and blending it into the darker more shimmery shade ‘Coax’ on the outer third of the eyelid. I added the matte black shade ‘Smokeout’ softly to the outer ‘V’ then patted the uber shimmery silver shadow ‘Shellshock’ to the inner corner. I then ran this colour onto the inner lower lash line, ‘X-Rated’ to the centre of the lower lash line, and finished off the outer lower lash line with some ‘Smokeout’. I used a little bit of ‘Bootycall’ (from the Naked 2 palette) to blend out at the top and as a brow highlight, and of course I added black gel liner and mascara. I also popped on a little bit of MAC ‘Lovelorn’ lipstick to finish off the look.

IMG_5289 IMG_5292 IMG_5293

Products used:

Collection Lasting Perfection concealer ‘Fair’
Rimmel London Wake Me Up foundation ‘Light Porcelain’
Rimmel London Stay Matte pressed powder ‘Translucent’
Rimmel London Natural Bronzer ‘Sun Bronze’
Elf Studio Brow Kit ‘Light’
NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil ‘Milk’
Urban Decay Vice 2 palette ‘Smokeout’, ‘Shellshock’, ‘Coax’, ‘X-Rated’
MAC lipstick ‘Lovelorn’


I hope you enjoyed this look – the colours aren’t coming out as vibrant as they are in person, but I wanted to create a pink look that was slightly more wearable. Coming from a girl who is strictly neutrals, I think I did alright with a bit of colour!

Talk to you later!
becca

 

 

15 thoughts on “On Wednesdays We Wear Pink

  1. Great post. I’m sorry for your loss. I lost my mother 5 years ago to breast cancer and donate every month. Great way for you and Katie to make awareness x

    Like

  2. First off, you look absolutely beautiful and did such a great job! I love how you did your makeup. I just love your blog and blog posts! Your blog always looks so neat and you always have such amazing pictures! I am so sorry for your loss. I lost my paternal grandmother to breast cancer, it had spread throughout her body and she was only in her 60’s. I guess I should have included some info on that in my post. I was only about 9 years old when she passed. Thank you so much for the kind words and the shout out and for linking my post. I really appreciate it! Amazing post as always! I always have to read every single one and I look forward to them. 🙂 ❤ xo

    Like

    • Aw thanks hun! ❤ I think I did alright considering I don't usually wear colour! Hahah.
      Oh how awful so sorry for your loss. It's just the worst isn't it?
      Same goes to you – I love your blog too! I always look forward to your posts. x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

