Get Ready for Autumn #4 – Lipstick

Hey there,

I cannot believe how damn busy I have been with work the past month – so busy in fact that I completely forgot about my Saturday GRFA series. I’ve barely had a day off work and I just haven’t had the time to do much writing at all, hence why this weeks post is coming to you on a Monday! Either way, so far in the Get Ready for Autumn series we’ve covered nail polishes, knitted jumpers and generally autumn-y goodness, so this week we’re talking about one of my favourite make up products ever; lipsticks! I thought I’d share with you a few lipstick shades that I’ll be very likely wearing through these colder months.


IMG_5224 IMG_5226Top: Indirect sunlight. Bottom: More direct sunlight.
Left to right. Rimmel ‘107’, Avon ‘Vintage Pink’, MAC ‘Captive’, Apocalips ‘Stellar’, MAC ‘MAC Red’

Kate by Rimmel, Matte collection – shade ‘107’

IMG_5228

If you’ve been following my blog for a while you’ll know that I actually did a separate review for this lipstick here, so if you’re interested go check that out. What I love about this one is that the shade simply screams ‘autumn’ to me. It’s a perfect deep wine colour that can be built up to make a truly rich shade. I have found that since wearing a lot more it can be a little dry on the lips, but all it takes is a dab of lip balm on top and a little top up of lipstick and you’re good to go again.

Avon Extra Lasting lipstick ‘Vintage Pink’

IMG_5231

This has been a favourite of mine for years – in fact I’ve had it so long I should definitely just repurchase a new one. I’ve never had a lipstick last as well as this one does, even through eating and drinking. There is some wear with it but compared to most other lipsticks I’ve tried, others don’t hold a candle to this one. It’s such a beautiful medium berry pink shade with a very slight shimmer to it, and I think this colour suits me so well! It also smells so beautiful; really sweet and almost strawberry-ish (though the formulae could have changed since I purchased mine many moons ago). Definitely recommend this one if you can get it. (NOTE: I have just searched the Avon online shop and I’m pretty positive the packaging has changed.)

MAC ‘Captive’

IMG_5230

Ugh I love this lipstick so much; as you can see there isn’t much left of it. I actually featured it in my MOTD: Graduation post if you’d like to see it on the lips. ‘Captive’ is a gorgeous pinky/plum in a Satin finish, so it’s super pigmented but still nice and creamy, and not as drying as a matte formulae can be. It was the first more daring lipstick I ever owned, and I think it’s bold without pushing the boat out too much – definitely a good one for someone who wants to step into the world of plum/berry lips but doesn’t want to go as far as something like ‘Diva’ by MAC. Again, this is one I will definitely be repurchasing!

Rimmel Apocalips ‘Stellar’

IMG_5232

If you’re looking for a high gloss finish the Apocalips are the way to go. Technically not a lipstick, and instead is a lip lacquer, this shade ‘Stellar’ is not necessarily the first shade you think of when you think of autumn lip colours because it is such a bright, almost neon, coral toned pink. However, I have had many many compliments wearing this lip colour, and I find they are relatively long lasting. I love wearing this with a simple cat eye for an amazing pop of colour. I also hear they’re soon coming out with a matte collection of the Apocalips – though don’t quote me on that!

MAC ‘MAC Red’ 

IMG_5229

‘MAC Red’ is a true blue toned red that every woman should have in her lipstick collection. I’ve done a post on my favourite red lip in which I spoke about this shade and I could literally go on and on about how much I love it. Again, it’s my favourite Satin finish so you get high impact colour without the super dry and difficult texture (of the likes of Ruby Woo which I also own), and it’s just such a classic colour that looks amazing with winged liner. I love an amazing red lip in the winter time and this shade ticks all the boxes for me!

Wish List Lipstick: Revlon Super Lustrous ‘Black Cherry’ 

blackcherry*photo from Superdrug website (link)

I’ve decided this is the next on my lipstick wish list. I love dark and bold lips and I want to try something a lot darker this year, and ‘Black Cherry’ is exactly what I want. It’s a gorgeous vampy plum colour that I need to own, and need to pair with a gold eyeshadow! If any of you own this lipstick do let me know in the comments what you think of it!


So there you go; 5 autumn lipsticks that I will definitely be rocking this autumn/winter. Let me know in the comments what you’re favourite lip colours are through the colder months, and if there’s anything you think I need to own!

Thanks for being so patient with me whilst I try and work out balancing my blog with my constantly changing work schedule, and hopefully I’ll be back on track soon! If there’s any of these shades you’d like to see a proper review on/swatches on the lips then let me know and I can dedicate a post to it!

Talk to you later!
becca

 

20 thoughts on “Get Ready for Autumn #4 – Lipstick

  1. Love your lip colors here! I really do think you should give Mac’s Diva a chance! I love it!! 😉 xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

