Have I Found My Holy Grail Skin Care Product?!

Hey there.

If you’ve been following my blog for a little while now you might know that a new product I had been using completely broke out my skin all over my chin/around my mouth, and my chin and nose became even more of an oil slick than usual. I put up with that for weeks trying so many different things to get rid of the breakout and mattify my skin. I think I’ve finally done it. After only using this product three times, my face looks and feels completely new – all of those horrible red breakouts are gone. Literally all of them. I really wish I had a before and after to show you because you wouldn’t believe the difference it has made. I’ll stop being secretive now and I’ll dive into this review.

‘Cupcake’ face mask by LUSH.

IMG_5164

Cupcake is, as you might guess by the name, a chocolately scented face mask that is part of their fresh face mask range – this meaning they must be stored in the fridge and used within three weeks. I was a little hesitant to pick up this mask because it’s designed for troubled ‘teenage’/acne prone skin, which isn’t my skin type, (I’d say mine is more combination) but I was now willing to try anything to shift this breakout that was lasting for weeks – even despite the fact that I’d heard it wasn’t the best mask for sensitive skin like mine. But I’m so glad I did!

As I said before, I’ve used this product only three times so far, maybe 2-3 times a week as I’m going with it (I plan to use it today on my one day off from work!) and already my skin looks back to normal. I’m not the kind of person who usually gets many spots; usually just the odd hormonal breakout around ‘that time of the month’ that clears up by the end of the week.

IMG_5165

I only use this mask on the oily areas of my face (because my skin is combination I don’t want to dry out the ‘normal’ areas of my face) that being around my mouth, on my nose and sometimes up onto my forehead, and I find that works best for me. It’s nice and cooling from being kept in the fridge, and applies really easily. I like to use a generous thick layer so it can get to work, and leave it for around 10-15, sometimes 20 minutes, and in this time it dries slightly on the thinner areas, but not completely like other face masks I’ve used. To remove I use a wet face cloth, getting the face damp and sort of massaging the product in as I remove it. This is where it can a little messy since it does look like chocolate cake frosting, and if you don’t remove it properly your face can look a little dirty. I just ensure that I keep rinsing off the face cloth so I’m not using a dirty cloth on my face, and keep using clean water.

IMG_5162I’m sure it’s impossible to look cute covered in brown sludge. I might have gone a bit OTT with it this time…

As soon as I’ve patted my face dry you can see such a difference. My skin feels calmed and clearer, and no longer like you have a layer of oil sitting on top. By the morning I could already see spots disappearing, and generally I feel much more confident in myself.

To summarise; I have never had a product give me such obvious good results in such a short space of time. This probably won’t be my all year round face mask, but if I ever have a breakout again, this is the first thing I will be purchasing.


I’m such a newbie to skin care, so I’d love to hear; what are your holy grail skin care items?

Talk to you later!
becca

22 thoughts on “Have I Found My Holy Grail Skin Care Product?!

  1. I have used Cupcake since I was a spotty 13 year old teen! It’s a classic!
    Mask of Magnaminty and Catastrophe Cosmetic are also excellent face masks! xx

    Like

    • Yes I want to try Mask of Mag soooo much! It always sells out in days at the shop. I’ve tried Catastrophe as well and I love it! Didn’t think I’d like it because I don’t like blueberries, but theres no overpowering smell and I find its a little more like a ‘classic’ face mask – like it feels a bit more clay like than just slappy mushy fruit on your face or something. I’m not making LUSH masks found appealing am I?! 😛 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aaah cupcake is THE best!!!
    Although be careful! I did not realise they had a best before date ((Stupid me) and my face completely broke out due to using it after its 2 week expiry 😦 very sore!!
    It is by far the best mask though x

    Like

    • It is!
      Yep, the fresh face masks only last around three weeks because they’re full of fresh fruit and veggies! Mines about to go out of date /: Sucks!
      I also love Love Lettuce! x

      Like

      • LUSH’s Mask of Magnaminty is always a good face mask for blemishes and blackheads – and it’s clay based so it’ll last around four months. Their cleansers are also amazing, Herbalism is perfect for more acne/troubled skin, and Angels on Bare Skin is what I used – I have combination skin. x

        Like

      • Great – thank you so much! Will definitely be taking a trip to lush tomorrow then – need my self confidence back!! Haha thank you x

        Like

      • I was the same but since I’ve started to use LUSH stuff my skin has improved so much. I’d say go into the store and speak to the staff, you’ll be able to explain better to them and they’ll be able to see for themselves what your skin is like and so recommend the right stuff! x

        Like

      • I’m in Las Vegas, Nevada. I’ll have to look online and see if there’s a lush nearby and if not I’ll order it!! Do they have other masks that help with pores/pimples that aren’t fresh face ones?

        Like

      • They have Mask of Magnaminty which is a clay based one instead of fruit/veg so you should be able to get it online because it doesn’t need to be stored in the fridge. It’s really good at cleansing the skin and is meant to be especially good with blackheads. Not tried it myself yet though but it is a massive best seller!

        Like

  3. Such a great post as always! ❤ I will keep this mask in mind if I ever need something like it. Though by the looks of it, it looks so delicious and I would be tempted to eat it! lol haha. 🙂 xo

    Like

  4. Will have to keep this in mind next time I have a major breakout! My skin is only just starting to calm down after a couple of weeks of bad spots, so I don’t want to put too many new products on it atm, but if it doesn’t clear up soon I’ll probably be tempted!x

    Like

  5. Happy to hear that it worked for u, I used to have bad acne for a long time so I know how annoying it!!
    My favourite is the mask of magnaminty but after reading ur post I really want to try the cupcake one lol

    Like

    • I definitely want to try Magnaminty next. I’ve only heard good things about it! When my cupcake is all used up I’ll think I’ll get that one, plus it lasts so much longer! x

      Like

  6. For me, the Mask of Magnaminty from Lush and Benzagel, which is a spot treatment work great for any breakouts! Great post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

