A Beauty Review: Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation and Concealer

Hey there! So a little ago I ran out of my favourite drugstore foundation, the Rimmel Match Perfection foundation, and since my graduation was coming up I wanted to stock up on a new foundation so my skin would look good on a day that I knew would be full of photos! When I was browsing Superdrug I decided to step out of my comfort zone (somewhat) and try a new foundation. Rimmel had a buy one get one half off offer, and so since I’d heard such amazing reviews across YouTube and the beauty blogging community I thought I’d try the Wake Me Up foundation and concealer. Plus, you know I love Rimmel!

DSCF5614Nice sleek, simple packaging. And matching!

“Rimmel’s first full coverage concealer. Instant anti-fatigue effect with peptides and vitamin moisturising complex. Visibly reawakens and illuminates under the eyes. Completely conceals spots and other blemishes.”

First off I’ll start with the concealer, and straight away it’s way too orange for me. ‘Ivory’ is so tricky to judge in the drugstore for fair skinned girls like me. I’ve heard people say that pale girls can just go into the drugstore and select the palest shade they do – but that isn’t the case. A lot of the time Ivory shades are too orange toned, and True Ivory shades are way too pinked toned. For me, my skin falls on the more neutral-pink undertones and so it is so difficult to find drugstore foundations and concealers that work for me! Anyways, the main thing I found with this concealer is that it’s very slippery. I applied with it’s standard ‘doe foot’ applicator, and blended it out using my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush (which is what I usually do with my Collection Lasting Perfection concealer) but I felt like I was just wiping it away more than blending it. Rimmel claims this is a ‘full coverage’ concealer but I really don’t think that’s the case. I also like to have lazy days where I just use concealer and powder instead of going all out with foundation, but I don’t feel I can use this concealer for that purpose, mostly because the colour doesn’t match right but also because it’s not enough coverage. If you’re looking for something that’s a nice light coverage then this is definitely that, but I just don’t think it meets the needs of what I personally look for in a concealer.

IMG_5083Wake Me Up Concealer in shade ‘Ivory’ – very orange/yellow toned.

IMG_5073Bare face. Cleaned and moisturised. Some breakouts and redness.

IMG_5074Usual area’s I apply concealer.

IMG_5076Concealer blended out. It actually looks better in photo than real life! Blemishes mostly covered, under eye circles still somewhat visible. Slight yellow tone to it.

“Wake Up & Glow! Rimmel’s first liquid foundation that instantly reawakens skin with a healthy, radiant glow. Light, moisturising texture applies smoothly and leaves skin feeling soft and comfortable all day. Gives an instant flawless, natural-looking finish. Visible anti-fatigue effect with peptides and a Vitamin Moisturising complex.”

Now moving onto the foundation. This colour is (almost) the perfect match for me, and I had confidence choosing ‘Light Porcelain’ because it’s the same name as the one I use in the Match Perfection formula – I even compared the two side by side in store and they’re almost identicle. In a way, this foundation reminds me of a foundation I have used and loved in the past; the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum foundation, because it’s almost like a gel consistency. It’s thick enough that it’s not runny, but also blends out really nicely so that you get a light coverage, but you can almost not tell you’re wearing a foundation – I just leaves the skin smooth, and it does a good job of covering redness.

IMG_5081Left – Rimmel Match Perfection foundation ‘Light Porcelain’. Right – Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation ‘Light Porcelain’.  You can see the Wake Me Up foundation is slightly more yellow/’orange’, whilst the Match Perfection, I find, is slightly more neutral.

However, I did wear this to work on a hot and sticky day in the kitchens, and by the end of my seven hour shift the foundation had separated and was coming away from my skin wherever I touched my face. This could be down to not wearing a primer, but I never really got that with Match Perfection and I often didn’t wear a primer with that. But it also could be because my face (in particular my nose and chin) have gotten a lot more oily recently, and I’m sort of having to figure out a new way of dealing with my skin! Perhaps this is just not a foundation for people with oily skin. One thing I also found is that the foundation is quite shimmery. You can’t tell straight away but when the light catches it, it is quite the ‘glitter ball’ effect. Maybe that’s the ‘radiant glow’ they were talking about…

IMG_5077 IMG_5078Concealer and foundation. Skin looks a lot more even. Blemishes still visible but not obvious. Most redness covered. Still some freckles showing for a natural look.

Overall, I probably won’t repurchase the concealer just because it’s not personally what I look for in a concealer and they don’t offer the right shade for me, but I would repurchase the foundation. I think, however, that I want something with a more medium-full coverage and a matte finish for these colder months, so again, it’s not that it’s a bad foundation – I did enjoy it – it’s just that it’s not what I’m looking for right now. Maybe when spring comes back around next year I’ll give it another go for a nice and light foundation, but for now neither product will be taking the crown from my current favourite drugstore foundation and concealer – both of which are also cheaper than the Wake Me Up collection.


Rimmels Wake Me Up foundation retails for £8.99 (30ml), and the concealer for £5.49, both at Boots. Have you tried the Wake Me Up collection? Let me know what you thought!

Talk to you later!
becca

11 thoughts on “A Beauty Review: Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation and Concealer

  1. I actually really loved this foundation in the colder months, it made my dry skin lovely and glowy (which it really wasn’t pre-application haha). Totally agree with the colour range though, I’m not sure what Rimmel were thinking there! Great post x

    http://beautifulbedlamblog.com/?p=743

    Like

  2. […] Now, I promise I’ll stop going on about it soon, but for those of you who don’t know, I recently graduated university, but didn’t have the time or the patience to take decent photos on the day of how my makeup turned out, so I thought I would recreate it for you. It’s nothing special, just a nice simple look that has a few little pops of colour. I was also trying out a new foundation; the Rimmel Wake Me Up that I reviewed here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

