Back 2 MAC

Hey guys.

So I’ve been meaning to do this post for forever! I’ve had a bag of MAC empties going house to house with me every time I’ve moved in the past couple of years, but finally, I took them into town to trade in for a lipstick as part of the Back 2 MAC scheme. I actually had 11 empties, just shy of getting two lipsticks, so instead just took in 6 – the rest can wait for another time! If you don’t know what the Back 2 MAC scheme is, it’s basically where if you take back 6 empty MAC products you can get a free lipstick in return (at least that’s what it is in the UK!) as a recycling incentive.


Prep + Prime

IMG_5009

Obviously I loved this primer enough to go through a few bottles, four in fact! My boyfriends sister even bought me one of these as a present to me for helping out at her wedding since she knew how much I loved it. This goes on so smoothly and sinks so quickly allowing foundation to look flawless overtop. The only negative I have about this is that it has a slight glitter/shimmer to it, which when you go easy on it acts as a nice glow to the skin, but if you use too much your face can look somewhat like a glitter ball when the sun catches it.

Matchmaster Foundation – Shade 1.0

IMG_5010

I haven’t used this foundation in a couple of years, but this was the only liquid foundation they offered that had a shade she could match me in – so a good call for us fair skinned girls! It’s a light/medium buildable coverage and is just so smooth and goes really well with the Prep + Prime for such an easy application. I love the smell of this and there is some SPF in it as well. This was my favourite for a long time and I would love to try it again!


For a while now I’ve been looking for a lovely everyday shade, that’s a sort of nude, but not too blue-toned pink, and everything that I’d seen in the drugstore just wasn’t cutting it, so I put my trust in the MAC store – what a good decision that was!

One of the suggestions that the sales assistant had recommended for my skin tone was ‘Blankety’; a colour that I had seen (and loved) floating around the internet when I’d been looking for a shade, but I just had to see them in person. I didn’t bother trying it on in store because I was wearing one of my favourite lipsticks ‘Captive’ and couldn’t be bothered messing around with removing and reapplying, but when I got home it was the first thing I did, and I fell in love! It is my perfect ‘my lips but better’ shade, and being an Amplified Creme finish it’s super smooth and not drying at all – you don’t even feel like you’re wearing it! MAC describes it as a soft pink beige, which I find pretty accurate, and it was just what I was looking for. I imagine i’ll get a lot of wear out of this one now that my lipstick tastes are somewhat changing; I think it’ll be perfect for every day wear, or to pair with a nice smokey eye! It’s opened up my eyes to a whole new amazing world of nude lipsticks!

IMG_5020IMG_5022IMG_5023IMG_5031IMG_5030


Do let me know which MAC lipsticks are your favourites, or any you think I should check out!

Talk to you later!
becca

10 thoughts on “Back 2 MAC

  1. That’s a beautiful color! I have their nude lipstick, Myth, but it’s a little light for me. Basically skin-colored. Looks good with a darker pencil around the corners, though! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! I didn’t think I could ever like a nude lipstick! 😛 That was the thing; I didn’t want to end up with ‘foundation lips’ but didn’t want something blue-toned pink like I always have!

      Like

Leave a Reply

