A Beauty Review: Maybelline ‘The Rocket’ Mascara

Hellooo!

I’m going to be honest straight off the bat here; I almost named this post something along the lines of ‘Another Maybelline Mascara FAIL!’, but I calmed down enough to write this review and rethink my options. I decided on a less obvious approach to my feelings towards this mascara. I don’t know what it was, but I sort of had it in my head that I just loved Maybelline mascaras, and that there was a few misses but the majority of them were hits. I don’t know where I was getting this from because I actually hadn’t tried that many, but now this is my second Maybelline mascara in a row that I have disliked, and all for the sake of wanting to ‘try something new’!

What they say:

“Why You’ll Love It

Explosive Volume in Rocket Time! 6X Bigger. Smoother. Even.

Now, the most explosive, beautiful lashes ever!

Volum’ Express The Rocket Mascara’s patented Supersonic Brush with micro bristles loads on big, sleek volume instantly. Our fast-glide formula keeps lashes smooth. Zero clumps!”

After the less than average slight disappointment of the Volum’ Express Colossal mascara, in the smokey eye formula, I moved on to the even bigger disappointment of The Rocket mascara. I’d seen one really really bad review of this one, but that aside the majority of people loved it. Maybe it’s my fault, maybe I should have dug deeper in the the world of beauty reviews, maybe I should have listened to her, but if I was to do a ‘products I regret buying’ post, this would be numero uno.

For starters I looked at the brush and wasn’t impressed with the fact it was chunky and plastic with super short ‘bristles’, but thought maybe that would help with getting close to the lash line and separating the lashes. It didn’t. In fact all I can say is that this brush hurts! Like really, if this brush ever touches my eyelid, it feels like I’m applying mascara with a cactus. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t shove my mascara wand into my face, but to get right to the base it’s not out of this world to expect a girl to lightly touch the mascara wand to the base of her lashes, i.e, her very sensitive eyes! I tried a different technique, still feels like the prickle of a thousand tiny swords.

IMG_4883

As far as the performance of the actual mascara, my lashes just clumped together into a horrible spider leg disaster. Again, I tried different techniques; going in with a lighter hand, wiggling at the base, wiggling all the way up the lash, no wiggling. I thought maybe I was applying too much mascara, but even after wiping off as much as I could and being really careful with it, I still had no separation and barely any length or volume.

IMG_4890 IMG_4885IMG_4884Left – no mascara. Right – One thin coat of The Rocket

And in regards to how well it lasted, it seemed to hold up okay, but after a few hours it started flaking slightly. Mostly I noticed that it was smudging on me. Now, I don’t have particularly greasy eyelids/eye area, and I can honestly say mascara never smudges on me, but I guess there is a first time for everything. I got home from work to see black smudges under my eyes where my eyelashes had rested. Not cool Maybelline!

All I can say as a positive about this mascara is that it is very nice and black. Thats it. If you love this mascara, I’m glad you had better luck than I did, but it certainly didn’t take me to the moon! I think I just feel let down that this is the second mascara in a row that I’ve bought and have really been less than thrilled with. I shall maybe try another Maybelline mascara, but will most likely be repurchasing my beloved the Falsies. One thing Maybelline did do right. Maybe I’ll grow to like, or even love this mascara, but right now all I want to do is lob it down the end of the garden.

IMG_4895 IMG_4894Please excuse my naked face! I’m only wearing the mascara

To summarise:

Pros: Nice and black.
Some lengthening + volumising

Cons: Very prickly brush – not comfortable to use
Not enough separation
Too much clumping of lashes
Smudging and flaking after a few hours of wear

I could probably get over a lot of those cons, but it’s mostly the fact that the brush is not nice to use, and the smudging throughout the day, that I definitely won’t be repurchasing this mascara.

Please let me know what you think of The Rocket if you’ve tried it, or let me know of any best/worst mascara’s you’ve tried.

Talk to you later!
becca

8 thoughts on “A Beauty Review: Maybelline ‘The Rocket’ Mascara

  1. Yes! I completely agree with this. I mean it was an okay product, but it just was way too painful to apply. I felt the same way with Benefit’s They’re Real mascara…. Maybelline Falsies all the way!

    Like

    • Definitely! I’ve never tried the They’re Real, because I just couldn’t justify the price, so thanks for the heads up! I’ll definitely be going back to the Falsies!

      Like

  2. I had such high expectations when I bought this because of all the rave reviews. It almost gives no volume or length to my lashes, but it separates them really well. It’s kinda funny that on you it has a completely different effect but I guess every product works different on every person.

    Like

  3. I really liked this mascara. I even bought it a second time in waterproof. I think certain products just work different on everyone because we’re all different. I’ve recently moved on to Urban Decay’s Perversion Mascara that I got in my Ipsy Glam Bag and even ordered a full-size. I end up with so many mascaras though lol. 🙂 Great post! Good and honest! xox

    Like

    • Yeah it’s alway the way though isn’t it? You always have to take beauty reviews with a pinch of salt because everyone is so different. I just want to find that one amazing drugstore mascara! haha. I used to love the MAC Opulash, and loads of people really hate MAC mascaras. So each to their own! So many mascaras to choose from though. I think tonight it’s my mission to go through reviews 😛
      Thanks so much lovely xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

