Maybelline Color Tattoo ‘Permanent Taupe’

Hey ladies,

Today I wanted to talk to you about my experience with the Mayelline Color Tattoo in the shade ‘Permanent Taupe’. These cream shadows have been out for a long long time now, but it wasn’t until I was in the drugstore in need of a new mascara (a review coming soon!) that I saw it was buy one get one half price on all Maybelline products, and I thought I’d give it a try. I knew they were popular in the beauty community, and I had always wanted to give them a go, but for some reason they always just slipped through the gaps with me; there was always something I wanted more! But with these little beauties only retailing for £4.99, it meant that with this offer they were only around £2.50, so why not pick one up?!

IMG_4736

I was debating between this shade and another called ‘On and On Bronze’ (which I believe is ‘Bad to the Bronze’ in the US?) but decided on this one because I thought it would act as a great smokey eye base, and with it being much cooler toned, I thought it would match my skin tone better. In the pot this shade looks quite brown based, but when swatched it was a lot more grey than I expected it to be, but what I do like is that it’s a nice satin/matte finish – something that is great for use as a base for eyeshadows because you can keep it more matte, or add a nice shimmer over top. It’s the best of both worlds! (No I didn’t mean to quote Hannah Montana…)

I tried this out with some shadows from my much loved Naked 2 palette and I think I’m in love! I wore this look to work one evening and got so many compliments. The product is easy to work with, applies really nicely without slipping all over the place, and can be built up to a super thick opacity if that’s the look you’re going for. I just swirled my finger around in the pot and dabbed it all over the lid before blending out into the crease with my MAC 275SE. Easy peasy! What I love about these shadows (from what I’ve tried) is you can wear them on their own, or layer them with powder shadows – using a brush and eyeshadow overtop doesn’t cause the cream shadow to slip or rub away as it sort of ‘sets’ onto the lid without feeling dry or cakey. My eye make up lasted all night, even through being in and out of a hot kitchen, and by the time I was home there was only the most minimal of creasing around the inner corner – something that is common when I use creamier shadows. I also have relatively hooded eyes, yet still the product didn’t transfer onto the brow bone, or wear away or gather at the crease.

All in all, would I recommend? Yes! I willl definitely be buying some more shades at some point. They’re such an easy way to get beautiful colour in an instant.

Below are some pictures of how I’ve used it in a look today, I was in a rush so the blending isn’t perfect etc, but it’s just an idea of how it can come together as a whole eye look.

IMG_4844Using ‘Bootycall’, ‘Tease’ and ‘Snakebite’ from the Naked 2 palette (of course)

IMG_4827“Permanent Taupe” on two thirds(ish) of the lid

IMG_4828With “Tease” patted overtop

IMG_4831And “Snakebite” in the outer crease/outer corner. Then blend it all out…

IMG_4836
Then with “Bootycall” as inner corner highlight, and finished off with eyeliner and mascara

IMG_4842

I paired this with a tiny bit of blotted NYX “Beige” gloss (I’m on the hunt for a good nude to suit my skin tone!), but could be paired with a brighter lip, or the eye could be smoked out even more for a night out look.


I hope you enjoyed this post. Do let me know if you’ve tried the Maybelline Color Tattoo’s before, and if so, which colours should I try next?

Talk to you later!
becca

7 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Tattoo ‘Permanent Taupe’

  1. Love your look! Looks great! I also have a couple of the Maybelline Color Tattoo’s in Inked in Pink and Tough as Taupe I think it’s called which is probably the same as your Taupe. I really like them! 🙂 xox

    Like

  2. I’ve seen so many good reviews of these! Some people use them to fill in their brows with and apparently that lasts really well too. I think I need to get one, but not for my brows haha! Loved your make up look too 🙂 x

    Like

    • Oh never even thought of that. Think you’d definitely have to find the right shade though! You should definitely try them, I know I want (need!) to get more shades!
      Cheers! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

