A Review: Rimmel Kate Matte Lipstick

Hello there!

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? The reason for me being MIA for a little under a week is that my boyfriend was visiting from London, and for those of you who don’t know, we don’t get to see each other all that often so I wanted to just spend time together. I’m sure others in long distance relationships will know how it feels when you only get to spend a few days together every couple of weeks or such (I even wrote some tips on long distance relationships if you’re interested).

Today I’m reviewing one of the Kate Moss by Rimmel lipsticks, in the shade 107 from the matte collection. I must admit I bought this lipstick for a few reasons; 1- I fancied getting a couple of new ‘autumn/winter’ lipstick shades, 2- retailing at £5.49 (at Boots) it’s practically a steal, and 3- Zoella swears by the lipstick, and in Zoe Sugg we trust. Honestly though it really is a beautiful deep red/wine shade and I was so excited to try it out.


IMG_4784

IMG_4786

Scent. The first thing I have to comment on is the scent of this lipstick (and I’m assuming the whole range). Scent isn’t the be-all or end-all when it comes to lipsticks, but lets face it, if you’re literally putting it under your nose you don’t want something that smells plastic-y and sort of floral but medicine-y. It really is hard to describe but it’s not the most pleasant smell. Thankfully it doesn’t hang around too long, and after wearing it for a while you don’t notice it any longer.

Application. The first time I ‘tried on’ this lipstick I used it with my NYX Slim Lip Pencil in ‘Deep Red’, but for some reason I just wasn’t feeling it. It didn’t look good on my lips and didn’t go with my skin tone. I tried blotting and reapplying, but alas it was not my day! So I left it a few weeks and tried it out again when visiting my gal pal, Jess, but this time without a liner. Considering it’s a matte finish lipstick, it applies nice and smoothly, and has a lovely creamy texture – it’s not an effort to apply such as the likes of super dry lipstick ‘Ruby Woo’ by MAC. There was a tiny bit of bleeding around the lip line but you’d only really notice it if you were right up in my face (please don’t), so nothing that’s an issue and maybe it could be fixed with a better lip liner, though I preferred it without.

IMG_4824Left – one swipe. Right – built up.

Finish. What’s best about this lipstick is that, whilst it is a matte finish, it wasn’t so completely drying that my lips felt gross, it just ‘set’ enough to hold true and not slip around all over the place. I found it lasted nicely on the lips, but didn’t make it through eating or drinking, and needed to be re-applied afterwards since all that was left was a slight stain at the edges of the mouth. However this isn’t an issue for me, as I always carry the lip colour I’m wearing with me, and generally expect to have to do some sort of touch up after a meal to keep it looking fresh.

Packaging. I do like this packing. It’s simple but sleek. I like the ‘Kate’ signature on the lid, and the matte red colour makes it stand out amongst the likes of the black packing of my MAC collection. My only concern is that the lid doesn’t always feel like it’s securely closed, and I fear the lid’s going to come off in a makeup bag/handbag at some point. But really that’s probably just my own worrying mind!

Overall. I like this colour! It makes a nice change from my usual red lip of MAC Red, this 107 shade coming off a lot more ‘berry’ red than a true/blue toned red. It’s just one of the autumn/winter shades I was after.

IMG_4755

IMG_4815


So that’s that! Let me know if you’ve tried any of the Kate by Rimmel lipsticks, and if there’s any shades you think I should check out.

Talk to you later!
Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 23.53.03

 

5 thoughts on “A Review: Rimmel Kate Matte Lipstick

  1. Ah I got this shade too! It’s great for Autumn and Winter, I’ve not worn it since then so I’m looking forward to adding it to my make-up again this year (especially around Christmas!) x

    Like

Leave a Reply

