The Drugstore Makeup Tag

Hey people!

This is a little tag I’ve been meaning to do for a looong time since I was tagged by A Vibrant Day a few weeks ago. I’m such a fan of drugstore makeup. I can be a bit of a makeup ‘snob’ at times – in particular my lipsticks, but when you’re a student with a very limited makeup budget you learn to branch out. So without further ado, the questions….


What is your favourite drugstore/cheap makeup brand overall?
Probably Rimmel. At the minute, at least! I’m currently using Rimmel foundation, powder and bronzer.

Lip products?
As I said before, I’m a bit of a lipstick snob…however I did try a Revlon ColorBurst Balm recently. And loved it! I also have enjoyed the Rimmel lipsticks that I’ve tried in the past, and the single NYX Mega Shine Gloss that I own!

Least favourite product?
L’Oreal True Match foundation. This one just doesn’t work for me no matter what I do! I tried it again the other day but it just doesn’t blend into my skin, instead it sits on top and looks streaky and cakey. Truly horrible.

What is the best makeup bargain?
Elf Studio Eyebrow kit. I can’t go on about it enough. I’ve seriously hit pan on mine, so may have to make another Elf order soon!

What is your favourite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked?)
Rimmel Match Perfect foundation. I’ve heard some talk on the internet about this foundation, but I have literally repurchased this three additional times after I initially bought it, and for me to buy a foundation 4 times over I’ve got to really love it!

What is a drugstore product you think is overpriced/isn’t worth the hype?
I’m not sure…I’ve been pretty impress with UK drugstore prices, but sometimes I think generally Relvon/Max Factor can be a little pricy for drugstore, but they’re not brands I used regularly anyways.

What are your favourite drugstore hair products?
I love VO5 shampoo’s and conditioners. I always make sure I get them on offer too, so you can get both the massive 500ml bottles for under a fiver! I used to love Aussie but I repurchased the 3 Minute Miracle recently and I don’t know what it was but I wan’t a fan! I loved it in the past, but maybe my hair care needs have changed. I am enjoying the Aussie serum though.

What are your favourite drugstore/value nail products?
Barry M. Super cheap and great quality. I have loads of Models Own and Nails Inc polishes too but I find I pick out my Barry M ones much more often than anything else.


So that’s all the questions! Generally I do love drugstore makeup, but my new goal is to try and branch out a bit, I tend to stick to repurchasing my favourites so now it’s time to try something new!

Feel free to take on this tag if you would like to! I’d love to hear about your favourite drugstore products!

Talk to you later!
Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 23.53.03

 

14 thoughts on “The Drugstore Makeup Tag

Leave a Reply

