Budget Skincare Favourites

Heyy people!

I’m actually such a rookie when it comes to skin care, and I know this is something that I should be more concerned about (considering how much makeup I slap on my face) which is why I’m trying to get invested in having some sort of a skin care routine. However, until I know I’ll fully committed (and can actually afford it) I just can’t bring myself to spend money on more ‘high end’ skin care products. Saying that, there are some right gems at the drugstore. Now, I’m not saying I’m a skin care expert at any rate, but I thought I’d share with you a few of my current favourites so that maybe if you’re a newbie, like myself, there’s something here you could try out! Everything is generally under £5(!!!) and always under £10. Bargain, indeed!


Soap and Glory ‘Peaches and Clean’
(retails for £8 at Boots)

IMG_4702

  • 3-in-1 cleansing, smoothing and revitalising milk
  • Deep purifying, T-zone declogging
  • Boosts circulation and re-energises skin
  • Melts away make-up and blackhead-causing buildup
  • Balanced for all skin types

I’m not going to lie, I bought this one because my friend had it and I smelt it, and then there was no turning back. I’m not even the biggest lover of peach scents, but this cleanser smells amazing! Soap and Glory claim it is a ‘3-in-1 wash-off deep purifying cleanser’, and whilst I haven’t really used this on its own as way of removing my makeup (I usually use a micellar water/wipe first) because I’m funny about getting water/products in my eyes, this cleanser leaves your skin so incredibly baby-bum soft you will literally be stroking your face for hours! Sometimes I use a moisturiser after this, sometimes I don’t, it really depends on my skins needs at the time, but either way, oh I can’t explain to you how much I love this cleanser – you have to try it if you haven’t already. I just massage it into damp skin, and wipe away with a warm and damp flannel (or face cloth, or whatever you call it where you are!). As far as Soap and Glory’s claims with the product go, I definitely find that it is ‘t-zone declogging’! My t-zone always looks and feels 10 times better after washing my face with this cleanser, and with my skin leaning towards the more ‘sensitive’ end of the spectrum, I guess you can tick off ‘balanced for all skin types’ – talking from my own experience and experiences of friends. I can’t really comment on makeup removal as I’ve mentioned, and ‘boost circulation and re-energises skin? I have no idea!


L’Oreal Skin Perfection 3-in-1 Purifying Micellar Solution
(Retails for around £4.99)

IMG_4700

Used by make-up artists, this solution feels as gentle as water on your skin but acts like a make-up remover, toner and skin soother all in one.

These micellar water thingies seem to be all the rage lately, and every brand and their mother are coming out with one. Okay, slight exaggeration but I’ve seen a few. I’ve been using the L’Oreal one, have purchased it twice over, and both times I’ve managed to get it on offer for around the £3 mark – which I think is a bargain! I was guilty for a long time of just using face wipes, but after putting some of this on a cotton pad and wiping my face after using my usual face wipe, and then seeing how much make up was still coming off of my seemingly ‘clean’ skin, it was clear I needed a little more in my routine. I used it once to try and take off my eye makeup, holding it over my eyes and jiggling it about a bit, but my mascara just wouldn’t budge – it wasn’t even waterproof. So I never bothered again. Maybe I’ll give it another go, but if you are looking for something just to get off those last scraps of makeup – I would give this one a try! I have almost finished mine all up, and I probably would repurchase, but for the sake of giving everyone a go (and because I have my sights on another that it about the same price but twice the size), I want to try out the Garnier version.

Johnson’s Makeup Be Gone Moisturising Wipes
(retail for £3.29 at Boots)

IMG_4688

Dun! Dun! Duuuuuun! Face wipes!!! Now before you bash down my door with your holy water and chanting ‘the power of Christ compels you!’ just hear me out, okay?! I used to just use the Boots own face wipes (hello, they’re 3 for £3!) until I was all out and had to pick up some of these which were on offer for about £1.50ish (can you see a trend here? I’m good with getting the offers!) Anyway, these changed my still-face-wipe-using life. I understand they don’t get off all your makeup, and whatever other reasons these are the devils cleansing product, but these are the most moisturising face wipes I’ve ever tried! I had the Johnson’s wipes in the pink packet before (not sure if they’re the same range?) but I’ve since tried a few of the other versions; moisturising for dry skin, pampering for all skin types, clear skin for combination skin, and refreshing for normal skin. Okay, so I’ve tried all but one and that’s because I didn’t know it existed till now. However I will say only bother with the dry skin or all skin types versions (blue and purple packets respectively) because they’re the super moisturising ones. They smell quite nice, they take off the majority of makeup and they leave your skin so super soft I sometimes don’t bother with a moisturiser. So to wrap up that speech, these are fab to have around if you don’t want to take a million products away with you, or if you’re having one of those nights where you just can’t be bothered, because girls, we all know we have them!

 Nivea Daily Essentials Rich Regenerating Night Cream

IMG_4697 IMG_4698

I only picked this up because I thought it was time I actually tried a specific night cream – as opposed to just using a regular moisturiser at night – and it was pretty cheap, in fact I think I got it on offer. Again. But it does the job I guess, I don’t know if it does anything special because I have no other night cream experience that I’ve used on the regular to compare it to. But it makes my skin feel soft and it’s definitely moisturising – which is I suppose the whole point of a moisturiser! It’s not too greasy and it sinks in nicely, and my face still feels all smoothy-smooth in the morning! Mine’s almost up so I think next time I’ll try something new – I’ve had my eye on the Origins skin care for a long time but it’s, you know, slightly more expensive than this Nivea cream. (Already looking forward to pay day…). I don’t know if I’m exactly making this seem like a ‘favourite’ but really I do like it! It smells nice, it’s lovely and thick, and my skin feels amazing after I’ve applied it. But now I’ve joined the night cream using world, I think it’s time to broaden my horizons!

I tried to find this online and apparently they have a ‘dry and sensitive skin‘ version, and a ‘normal and combination‘ skin version – which I don’t know if mine is either, so maybe the variety is a new thing. Either way, they’re currently on offer for around £2 each, down from about £4. Bargain!

Neutrogena Visibly Clear 2-in-1
(retails for £3.79 at Boots)

IMG_4695 IMG_4706

I saw this product a long time back after MissGlamorazzi from YouTube featured it in one of her beauty hauls and I really liked the concept of it – and for a skin care newbie, two products in one seems like the go-to option! This product can either be used as a face wash, or as a mask, but because I usually use the Soap and Glory cleanser or another face wash, I primarily use this as a mask maybe once or twice a week (that’s when I don’t have a pot of my favourite Love Lettuce by Lush). It goes on nicely, only takes about 5 minutes to ‘set’, and I rinse it off with a flannel. It’s a decent product for the price and it really feels like it draws out the oiliness from my skin, which is becoming worse and worse on my t-zone and chin. I always feel a lot cleaner after using this as a mask, and I think that’s one of the nicest things about this product. Not much else to say really, I love what I’ve tried from the ‘Visibly Clear’ range (another product coming up next!) and whilst I don’t really struggle with acne, I do get hormonal breakouts, so it’s nice to be able to keep it under control and get rid of it as quickly as possible!

Neutrogena Visibly Clear Pore & Shine daily scrub
(retails for £4.49 at Boots)

IMG_4692 IMG_4703

Now, I haven’t actually had a proper chance to try this out on a regular basis, so I can’t comment on the long-term usage effects, and that’s mostly because my brother uses this more than I do – he seems to love it too! When I have used it, however, it is a super nice face wash that leaves your skin so nice and mattified and clean, without feeling tight or like it’s lacking moisture. I always use a moisturiser after washing my face but still, its nice to know a product isn’t just stripping your skin of all its natural moisture. It’s got tiny micro-beads instead of a more ‘grainy’ scrub to it, but it’s nice if you want to interchange throughout the week with another scrub that gives a less ‘gentle’ scrub. I really want to try the Ocean Salt face and body scrub by Lush (soon, my pretty!). I’d definitely give this a go if you’re one who feels the need to scrub their skin every day/every other day – I find it’s definitely gentle enough to use on a more regular basis as it doesn’t strip the skin of moisture, but I find it still gives a good cleanse to the face.


And I think that’s all for now. Please do let me know of any skin care products you think i should check out.

Talk to you later!
becca

7 thoughts on “Budget Skincare Favourites

    • Yeah I think they’re really nice products. I hate feeling like my face is dirty so when I make the effort its nice to feel all clean! (:

      aw thanks so much, hun! I’ll check that out! ❤

      Like

  1. I went to clinique and got an appointment where they looked at what type of skin i have on my face (turns out oily) and they matched me up to some products that make my face feel great 🙂

    ..x

    Like

Leave a Reply

