The British Tag

Heyyy!

So today’s post is going to be just a bit of fun. I found this tag on the blog elfypie and I literally had to do it! I am pretty proud to be British and I love British things. Also, this tag made me giggle. Hope you enjoy it too!


1. How many cups of tea do you have per day? (and how many sugars?)
It depends who I’m with. Now I live with my family, maybe 3 tops. When I’m living with my boyfriend – and I’m not exaggerating – it’s more around the 10 cups mark. If I love tea, then he’s about ready to dump me and elope with a cup of tea. As far as sugars go, its strictly 1 and a half sugars to a three-quarters full mug of tea. Making a cup of tea is an art form!

2. What is your favourite part of a roast dinner?
You’re making me choose?!
It also depends if you’re going all out with this roast dinner! I love roast chicken, but also pigs in blankets (different in the UK to the US – ours is mini sausages wrapped in bacon) and Yorkshire puddings, and you can’t forget mint sauce or gravy. Ohhhh this is making me hungry…

3. What is your favourite dunking biscuit?
I’m a Bourbon Cream kind of girl. My boyfriend however is all for a Custard Cream…

4. What is your favourite quintessentially British pastime?
Going to the sea-side. We always used to go to the East Coast, usually to Norfolk, and have cockles on the beach. Yum yum! But when you live in Leicestershire it’s a bloody trek to any coastline!

5. What is your favourite word?
Bloody. or bollocks. Generally British ‘swear words’ it seems! Cheeky!
But also ‘mardy’. That one is more regional than British. It just means ‘moody’ or ‘grumpy’.

6. What is your favourite Cockney rhyme slang?
Now, my boyfriend is a Londoner, so I always laugh at him saying things like ‘a score’ for £20 (did I get that one right?!) but my dad (whose mum was a Londoner) still always says ‘your boat’. As in boat race face. Or something like that.

7. What is your favourite sweet?
Sherbet Lemons! There is no other!

8. What would your pub be called?
The Red Lion of course! (Peter Kay anyone?)

9. Who is your number 1 British person?
Too many too choose. I think Peter Kay though. His comedy basically sums up British (maybe more Northern) life to a ‘T’

10. What is your favourite shop/restaurant?
I don’t know… There’s an all you can eat chinese in Leicester called Terracota, and oh wow so much food for your money. Oh and Harvester! I’m not a classy bird, you don’t need to impress me with fancy restaurants. Just take me Harvester! Free salad bar, and the piri piri fajita chicken combo please.

11. What British song pops into your head?
For some reason, It’s All About You – McFLY. I used to love McFLY.

12. Marmite.
All day long, yes!!! I love you, Marmite, I do.


Oooh I feel all patriotic. I loved this. Please do this tag if you are British. Or I guess if you’re not? I don’t know! I would so love to see tags like this from other cultures, I hope they exist or that someone could create one!

So, I’ll have another post on Thursday, which will be talking about budget skin care favourites!

Talk to you later!
Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 23.53.03

32 thoughts on “The British Tag

      • I know! and I was discussing this at work actually because most of the people in my uni class are from the south of England, so I used to have people joking about how differently I talk – being from only 100 miles away! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah I live out west in the US but I’m originally from the Midwest lol makes a difference! 🙂

        Like

      • I live in Las Vegas which is pretty well known lol. I am originally from a small town in Michigan. I love traveling to different places too and would love to travel to different countries someday. 🙂

        Like

      • Living in the bigger cities have their own pros and cons. It’s okay living here. I like how the Winter is mild and there are a lot of places to shop but my family is in Michigan which can make it hard sometimes. It’s so hot here right now and prefer cooler weather so I cannot wait till Fall/Winter lol

        Like

      • I know what you mean, I guess its different here because everything in England is so close together. I could be home from the city in a couple of hours. It was nice being just outside of the city – not too crazy busy all the time, but close enough that when you wanted all the nice shops, restaurants etc, it wasn’t so far away.
        Oh I am looking forward to the autumn too. I definitely have that ‘english rose’ complexion and this summer was very unexpectedly hot and humid!

        Liked by 1 person

      • You have a beautiful complexion! I have fair skin as well and I try to just embrace it 🙂 It’s been in the 100s here in Vegas lol. But yeah it was nice to just drive 45 min to go shopping when I lived in Michigan. I really miss the changing of the leaves as well. Don’t really have that here unfortunately.

        Like

      • Oh thanks, hun! I used to really love it – went through a massive Dita Von Teese phase and had dark hair and red lips all the time. Hahah. Nowadays I try and love it in a more natural way.
        Aw that’s sad. I love seeing all the lovely coloured leaves! We already have one red leaf on our tree on the front garden! Haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! 🙂 I am sure you look great with dark and light hair. I used to always switch up my hair colors but now I am sticking with the more natural blonde as well. Wow you must be getting an early Autumn! I am thinking I may have to do some traveling just to see some of the pretty colors! 🙂

        Like

      • Thanks ❤ I love your hair colour!
        I think we are! The days are getting noticeably shorter already as well. It's not long gone 10pm here and it's pitch black outside. A few weeks ago and we would have been out in the garden having a drink waiting for the sun to set!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much! ❤ I notice the days getting shorter as well. As soon as it cools down I will be able to have drinks on the balcony of my apartment which will be nice. For now it's inside in the air conditioning lol. 🙂

        Like

      • Oh that sounds lovely! ❤
        No air conditioning in this country! Hahah. My iPhone told me it was 100% humidity the other day and boy could I believe it. I just wanted to lie about in as little clothes as possible to escape from the sticky heat. I hate British summer time sometimes! As a nation we don't do well! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes air conditioning is a necessity living here! The only good thing about the heat here is the lack of humidity so it’s a dry heat. I know all too well about humidity when I lived in Michigan though. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

