MOTD: Summer Wedding Guest

Hey all!

As you might know from my previous posts I went to a wedding this past weekend. It was such a lovely day, but I had one manic morning as I had become resident hair dresser for my boyfriends niece and younger sister (which also resulted in a nice burn on my arm from the curling wand!). This meant I really didn’t have the time to be taking photos of my makeup or products etc, but I thought I could recreate the look to show you a relatively easy yet slightly more glam makeup look! Hope you enjoy!


Base

IMG_4592

For my base I did nothing special here – just my usual combo of Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer (01 Fair) with the Rimmel Match Perfection foundation (Light Porcelain), and Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder down the centre of my face. One thing I did ensure I did was use my MAC Prep + Prime! The forecast predicted heavy showers but luckily for us it rained a bit in the morning and held off for the rest of the day, however, this did mean it was incredibly humid, and no girl needs their makeup sliding off their face by the end of the day!

I also used my beloved Elf Studio Brow Kit in Ash. For this occasion I squared off the inner part of the brow more than I usually would for day to day wear to give a little more impact. And I also used my Rimmel Natural Bronzer in ‘022 Sun Bronze’, just dusted over my face to make me look somewhat less dead, which is always nice!

IMG_4599IMG_4602

Eyes

This is where the look gets a little more glamorous, though I still didn’t want to be using loads of products or spending forever working on my makeup; I’m sure most of you know how stressful getting ready for any big event can be when it’s not just yourself you’ve got to look after!

IMG_4593

 MOTD Naked 2

Here I used my trusted travel companion Urban Decay Naked 2 palette. I simply patted ‘YDK’ all over the lid, making sure I pressed rather than dragged because this shade causes a lot of fall out (I forgot my NYX Jumbo Eye Stick in ‘Bronze’ I usually use as a base! Rookie mistake!) but does look beautiful when you make the effort to apply it. Next I blended that out before adding a bit of ‘Tease’ into the crease and lower lash line, and then a tiny bit of ‘Snakebite’ into the outer ‘V’ to darken it slightly, and again blending out both colours. I then went back and patted a little more ‘YDK’ into the centre of the lid to replace any intensity that was lost, before finishing the shadows off with ‘Bootycall’ as a highlight shade. For this I used a blending brush to apply to the brow bone, and my finger to apply to the inner corner – using the brush gives a more subtle application whereas using your finger can really pack on the colour.

IMG_4609

To finish off the eye I did a small cat eye with the MAC Fluidline in ‘Blacktrack’ using my MAC 266 brush, before using my not-so-loved Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express ‘Smokey Eyes’ mascara (shoulda bought a new one…).

Lips

IMG_4594

If you’ve read my previous review on this Revlon ColorBurst matte balm in ‘Elusive’ you’ll know how much I loved it! It was the perfect product for a wedding – it didn’t slip and slide, or bleed because of the heat, and stood up enough to drinking and eating. It was such an easy product to use you could apply it without using a mirror, as if applying a lip balm, and you knew it would be looking good! And by the end of the night when I didn’t want to be fussing with lipstick anymore I just blended it all over my lips with my finger so it was more even, and applied a balm over top. Voila! This product lasted me so well between about 1:30pm till midnight. Go Revlon!

IMG_4617

IMG_4620

IMG_4610

Nails

As a little bonus I thought I’d show you the swatches of the Barry M ‘Pearl’ nail polish from their Silk collection that I featured in my Mini Haul: Wedding Guest post. As always Barry M did me well! This polish looked nice even with just one coat as a super sheer pearlescent sheen to the nails, yet with just a second coat it built up quite nicely to a pearly white finish which I thought looked cute with my outfit. For a fully opaque finish you might want to add a third coat but ‘ain’t nobody got time for dat!’. But seriously though, I pained my nails on Friday night and it is now Wednesday and there was some minor chipping, but what do you expect over a whole weekend which included attending a wedding and moving house?! (I did repaint for the purpose of this post because I wanted it to look pretty just for you!)

IMG_4624

IMG_4627

Unfortunately these photos just don’t do it justice, so you’ll have to go see it in the store for yourself. I think I may have to check out a few other shades too…


I hope you enjoyed this post, and perhaps it gave you some inspiration to try out a similar look? If you do, then let me know!

What makeup look would you wear to a wedding?

I’ll be back on Saturday with a post on “Products I Have Been Missing!”

Talk to you later!
Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 23.53.03

33 thoughts on “MOTD: Summer Wedding Guest

  1. I know this is an older post but I come back to it because I love that lip color and am going to buy! lol 🙂 xo

    Like

  2. I seriously love your blog. So that is why I am nominating you again, but this time for The Liebster Award!:) go look at my latest post for details!

    Like

  3. What a pretty look for the wedding! You know I too have been going to many weddings recently. And I have 3 more so I get the chance to try out your makeup! 😀

    Like

    • Aw thanks! ❤
      Hehe that would be so cool. I think it's a fairly simply look but still has some pretty sparkle, and for me its something a little different to my every day look!

      Like

    • Awwww, hun! (‘: ❤
      Yesss I was the same until I started getting blonder. My eyebrow pencil at the time was 'dark brown' and I wasn't loving it anymore so fancied a change. I got it because of Shaanxo and totally don't regret it. You can get such a nice defined brow but it still looks so natural. And it's also so cheap compared to a lot of brow kits on the market! ❤
      xx

      Like

      • That’s so good! 😀 most that I try are too orangey! I have soap & glory’s archery now, but it’s £10 each time 😫

        I love it! I’ll have to pop into the Cardiff elf store this week 😀 xx

        Like

    • It’s my new favourite polish! Took it off and put it straight back on – it’s got a little bit of glitter in it too which you can see in the light, so lovely!
      Aw thank you, hun! You’re too kind! ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

  4. That Barry M polish looks soo nice… I may have to buy some haha
    I got a wedding coming up next week actually! Maybe I’ll do a what I wore post like yours, *inspired* haha xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

