A Review: Revlon ColorBurst Matte Balm

I’m back!

Hey everyone, this past weekend was such a busy one for me; moving out of my house on Thursday, going to a wedding on Saturday and generally just spending time with my boyfriend and his family. So now I’m back I couldn’t wait to share with you a product I only bought on Thursday, yet one I have been loving, and that is the Revlon ColorBurst Matte Balm in the shade ‘Elusive’.


After the success of the now renamed ‘Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains’, Revlon released their new balms in two different matte and lacquer finishes. Their website describes the matte balms as the following:

‘Velvety Matte Look. Moisture Rich Balm.
A Matte finish that’s beyond plush. Balm that’s beyond comforting. Our Triple Butter Complex of Shea, Coconut and Mango butters nourishes lips. In 10 collectible, craveable colors.’

IMG_4557
IMG_4558

 

Colour:
‘Elusive’ is a beautiful light, blue toned pink. This one stood out to me straight away because I thought it would go so well with my pale blue dress for the wedding I attended this weekend. I liked it enough enough when I first got it, but over the weekend I fell in love with the colour, and found that it really suited my skin tone. Unfortunately these photos aren’t doing it justice!

Application:
I love how these go on. The crayon like style gives such precision that it’s really easy to apply around the lip line, yet the product itself is thick enough to fill in the lip without taking a lifetime. The balm is lovely and smooth, and has a slight minty scent which is initially somewhat cooling on the lips.

Finish:
These go on really creamy and smooth, helping the application even more, yet because they are a matte finish it does ‘set’ and dry the lips slightly, however not enough to be a problem (just stick on a bit of lip balm before application!). From what I’ve tried over the weekend it is long lasting, yet requires touching up after a couple of hours, or after eating/drinking. I found that it doesn’t wear away completely but leaves a sort of stain behind meaning that it doesn’t look awful when it fades, but I prefer a solid, opaque finish. One thing I will say is that when it does dry out I do feel aware that I have product on my lips, which might be an issue for some.

Packaging:
This super sleek, twist-up crayon packing really appeals to me. It’s compact but not so small that it gets lost in the bottom of my giant bag, and so has a decent amount of product for the price, and of course it’s easy to find the colour you want as the packing matches the product. Although, it may just be me, but I feel like the writing is upside down! I want it to be right way up when holding the product end in my right hand, as if ready to apply it, but of course that’s a tiny comment that doesn’t really make a difference – just me being picky!

IMG_4566

IMG_4569

 

Lipgloss to match:
I know that adding a gloss defeats the point of having a matte balm, but I thought this way it is a product that can be more versatile! I am really excited to properly try out this balm with the NYX Mega Shine Lipgloss in ‘Beige’ (£4.50). I think they compliment each other so well, and this gloss is perhaps one of the only ones I’ve tried to far that I have enjoyed wearing.

IMG_4574

with NYX gloss in ‘Beige’

IMG_4579

Rating:
Overall, I would recommend this and I already have noted down other colours that I want to try out, not only from the matte collection, but the lacquer finish balms as well. I feel like crying for not picking them up in Superdrug when they were 2 for £10! I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to try them out!

 


The Revlon ColorBurst balms retail for £7.99 at Boots.

Have you tried out the Revlon matte or lacquer balms yet? If so, do you recommend any particular shades?

Talk to you later!
Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 23.53.03

12 thoughts on “A Review: Revlon ColorBurst Matte Balm

Leave a Reply

