Weekend Away: Makeup Essentials

Hey all! Another little makeup related post for you! As I mentioned in a previous post I spent last weekend in London with my boyfriend and his family. Having to tackle the various trains and tubes and trains again, I like to pack as light as possible whilst still taking enough makeup-wise to be able to have a general day look, a ‘smarter’ day look, and an evening look for going out to dinner together. So I thought I’d put together a little post to tell you what my weekend make-up essentials are.


Base

Base

MAC Prep + Prime face primer: This one here is obviously just a sample, but I have previously been through about 3/4 of the full sized ones (and watched them go up and up in price). I love this primer! It smooths across the skin and makeup applies so flawlessly overtop. I use this down the centre of my face – where my skin gets most oily – and out under my eyes/across my cheekbones.

Collection Lasting Perfection concealer (01 Fair): If you guys had seen my ‘Current Everyday Make-Up Look’ you’ll know a lot of these products were featured in that, because I really am loving them right now! This concealer is thick and creamy and does the job. Taking a concealer gives you the option to skin foundation and just throw a bit of this on with some powder over top.

Rimmel Match Perfection foundation (010 Light Porcelain): I have repurchased this many a time, and soon I think I’ll move on, but for now I love it. Its light but buildable to a medium coverage, and gives a lovely dewey finish to the skin, and is so easy to blend.

Rimmel Stay Matte Powder (Translucent): This always has been a favourite of mine. Covers and creates a nice matte finish (great for where I’m oily down the centre of my face), and doesn’t cake up.

Rimmel Natural Bronzer (022 Sun Bronze): Can you tell I’m loving Rimmel right now?! This is great and doesn’t go too orange on my fair skin, as long as you don’t go in with a heavy hand and have the patience to build it up a little at a time.

Eyes

Eyes

Elf Studio Eye Kit (Ash): This product has definitely converted me to gel brow products! Easy to use with great results. Can never go away without a good brow product.

Urban Decay Naked 2: Taking a good palette when travelling is so much easier than taking singles, and for me this one just does it all! The cooler tones work best for my skin tone, and with such a variety of shades you can create any day/evening look, or anything in between. I’d be quite happy just taking this away with me, but sometimes I like to throw in an extra or two depending on the occasion.

MAC Eyeshadow Single (Black Tied): This is a gorgeous black eyeshadow with silver sparkle in a velvet finish. I love to take this as a way of adding a bit of glamour to a nice evening smokey eye. Who doesn’t love a bit of sparkle?!

MAC Fluidline gel liner (Blacktrack): This has been a favourite of mine for years. I apply it with the MAC 266 brush. Its so smooth and black and I can’t go away with a gel liner.

Prestige Eyeliner (Black brown): This eyeliner is so old I definitely should not still be using it! However, I like to have the option of something less dramatic than black gel liner, and something a lot easier! I like to apply this to the top lash line and blend/smoke out with a brush.

Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara (Smokey Eye): Usually I love Maybelline mascaras; this one, however, was a bit of a miss for me. Having said that it’s not awful, it just requires a lot more work than I would like and sometimes just ends up clumping yours lashes together, but I will use it up (non-existent beauty budget and all!).

Lips

Lips1

Wet ‘n’ Wild Mega Last Lip Colour (Cora-line): This one here was a ‘just in case’ sort of lipstick that I threw in my bag. I knew it was going to be a relatively relaxed weekend of not leaving the house much aside from to go to IKEA, plus with the way the weather has been there was too much sweaty face-ness to want a lipstick I’d be constantly checking wasn’t all over my face. But I wanted the option for when we went out to dinner, and this is a nice coral/red that can be paired with a bit of winged eyeliner.


And that’s about it! I found that when travelling by sticking to your favourites that you know will work you won’t be away from all of your alternatives and have a moment of ‘this isn’t working!’, and with that you can throw in a few extras like a more glamorous eyeshadow/lipstick to mix things up a bit.

Let me know what your weekend essentials are when you’re packing light!

Talk to you later!

Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 23.53.03

One thought on “Weekend Away: Makeup Essentials

Leave a Reply

