Current Everyday Make-Up Look

Hi all!

So here in Britain we are in the middle of an awful humid summertime; something that I am definitely not a fan of. I hate feeling sweaty and sticky, and I hate feeling like I just want my hair out of the way 24/7. But mostly I hate feeling that I’ve got make-up caked all over my face, or having the constant worry that my watery hayfever-y eyes are causing my mascara to run or that my sweating is causing my foundation to slip and slide. A wonderful picture I’m painting here, I know! Anyways, I know I’m far from a fantastic make up artist but I thought I’d put together a little post about what products I’ve been using when I feel like I need a bit of makeup on, but don’t want to feel overwhelmed with products.


Now first off since my skin has been pretty good lately, and because its been so hot, I haven’t been wearing a foundation. I know that a while back the whole BB cream craze started but I never really managed to find a drugstore BB cream that worked for me – even the lightest shades just came off too orange. I think that one of my goals is to find an amazing high end BB cream or tinted moisturiser that works for me, and that I can see being worth the money – so let me know if you have any suggestions! Anywhoooo, what I have been using is the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in shade 01 Fair.

IMG_4446Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer – 01 Fair (retails for £4.19 at Boots)

It’s creamy and thick and lovely and everyone raves about it! Whilst Fair is pretty light (even for me!) it works well under the eyes and it lovely and brightening. I’ve been putting this under the eyes, around my nose and a little on my chin, as well as on any blemishes I need to cover, then I’ve been gently buffing it in with my Real Techniques Expert Brush – what I usually use for my foundation. (P.S. Does anyone else’s packaging always end up blank like mine?!)

IMG_4438Rimmel Stay Matte Long Lasting pressed powder – Transparent (retails for £3.99 at Boots)

Now to set what concealer I’ve put on, and to reduce any shine, I’ve been using this (obviously much loved) Stay Matte powder. This product is another favourite drugstore product in the beauty community and I can see why. I’ve been through maybe three of these and for how much you pay you get such great quality. It keeps skin matte without being too powdery, and even for my oily t-zone it keeps the oil away for a fair amount of time. I use the Real Techniques Powder Brush to apply this.

IMG_4435elf Studio Eyebrow kit in the shade Ash (£3.95 on the elf UK website)

First off I must apologise for the state of my brow kit, again it is a much loved product of mine! Ash is such a great shade for my brows and my blonde hair, however because of how popular it is I found it very hard to get hold of in the UK! I ended up buying it on Beauty Joint for only £2.33! I also bought the elf Small Angled Brush to apply it with, which was a good call because the double ended brush it comes with is way too small for any good use. I think I’m now converted from my much loved Rimmel brow pencil, and now will be trying out other gel brow kits when I’m done with this one.

naked 2Naked 2 Palette – Urban Decay (retails for £37 in the UK)

As always I’ve been loving the Urban Decay Naked 2 eyeshadow palette and have been using it for a real simple eye look which is a favourite of mine because its interchangeable with so many different lip colours. I’ve been using Foxy all over the lid (applied with the MAC 239 brush), then blending a little bit of Tease into the crease (with the MAC 275SE), with Bootycall as a brow and inner corner highlight. Of course all these shadows are lovely and pigmented – everyone knows how great the quality of the Naked 2 palettes are!

IMG_4436MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack (retails for £15.50)

My makeup never looks quite right without my gel eyeliner and the MAC Blacktrack is an old favourite of mine. Its smooth and applies really well, and is really black! I use the MAC 266 brush to apply and lately I’ve not been doing so much of a cat eye, just a small little ‘triangle’ in the outer corner. Since I can’t go without my eyeliner I’d love for you to let me know what gel/liquid eyeliners you are loving!

IMG_4444
Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express Smokey Eye mascara (£7.99 at Boots)

Now this is not a favourite mascara of mine, but I wanted to try something other than the Falsies for a change! Initally I was attracted to the huge brush (like the MAC Opulash mascara that I love!) but I don’t find it does anything special with my lashes. I will, however, use it all because I don’t want to waste it, but I doubt I’ll repurchase. I’d recommend the Maybelline Falsies over this one if you’re looking for a good quality drugstore mascara.

IMG_4440
Rimmel Natural Bronzer (retails for £5.99 at Boots)

I finish off the look by sweeping a bit of this bronzer over my face just to warm it up. I like this bronzer because it doesn’t come off orange on me – which is something you have to watch out for when you have skin as fair as I do! I use the Real Techniques Blush brush to apply.

IMG_4441MAC lipstick in ‘Lovelorn’ (retails for £15.50)

Lastly I finished off the look by dabbing a bit of Lovelorn onto the lips. As you can see by how much I have left, this was once a very loved lipstick of mine! Its a nice sheer Lustre finish and great for an everday colour. It’s not so much of a favourite of mine anymore since I much prefer a more pigmented satin/matte finish now, but it is a lovely pink and you will love it if you’re a fan of the Lustre finish.

IMG_4407

IMG_4410

IMG_4421

BONUS PICTURES: My sleeping kitty whilst I was putting this together! IMG_4403IMG_4404


Thanks for reading! As always the photos will link you to where you can buy the products (UK). Hope you enjoyed this. Let me know what your everyday summer products are.

Talk to you later!

Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 23.53.03

14 thoughts on “Current Everyday Make-Up Look

  1. I am currently using the Rimmel eyebrow pencil but it’s starting to annoy me aha! That ELF eyebrow thingy looks great (i’m not saying that because my blog name is elfypie haha) so thank you for recommending!:)

    Like

    • Yeah I know what you mean. I do love the elf eyebrow kit and I think the value for money is amazing. Also it works so much better for me because the Ash shade is not red toned like the pencil, which goes a lot better with my ashy toned hair.

      Like

Leave a Reply

