June Favourites

Hi!

So somehow its already July (almost) and half the year has flown by. I know people say this a lot about certain years or months, but 2014 has gone extremely quickly for me.

Monthly favourite videos are among the top of my favourite videos that I watch on YouTube. Its always after watching these videos that I begin mentally creating my own list of favourite things that I would write about and share with the world if I were to have a blog or YouTube channel. Only now I do have a blog, and I thought, why not share with people the various things that I am currently loving. From makeup to music, and food to fiction, here are the things that I am enjoying enough to take the time to actually sit down and write about.


Dark Places – Gillian Flynn

Dark Places

First off; a book. After flying through ‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn, a recommendation by Alison Anderson – one of my absolute favourite bloggers/beauty gurus whose word I always trust (we share a deep love for Pretty Little Liars and a good cup of tea) – I went on and purchased a few more of her recommendations; one being ‘Dark Places’. In short the story is about (don’t worry – no spoilers!) Libby Day, who at seven years old gave evidence that put her 15 year old brother in jail after the murders of her mother and two sisters. Going forward twenty-something years Libby is contacted by people who are convinced Ben is innocent, and so she begins to search for the answers to what actually happened that night.

Already being a fan of Gillian Flynn and a good crime/murder book I must admit I had high expectations for this read, and thankfully it did not disappoint! The narrative switches between present day Libby, and the voices of her mother or brother on the day before the murders, and I found that whilst Libby is not a ‘nice’ person to act as the protagonist she is still likeable and you find yourself routing for her. Whilst I did find that I figured it all out a little sooner than I would have liked (perhaps the ‘oh my god!’ moment I was hoping for is a little too much to ask for?!), I was not at all bored by the storyline and had nights where I was sat in bed unable to put it down. All in all, I definitely recommend ‘Dark Places’ and ‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn, however her other (debut) novel ‘Sharp Objects’ was a bit of a flop for me personally.

 

Lush ‘Whipstick’ lip balm

IMG_4224IMG_4226

Now this is one of those products that takes me back to being fourteen years old and first getting in to makeup and cosmetics, and the beauty world in general. I believe this was the first Lush product I ever bought – back then it was only around £3! 

No matter the season I’ve always been a sufferer of sore, dry and cracked lips, and believe me I have tried my fair share of damn awful lip balms on the never ending hunt for that ‘perfect one’. I always restrained from going back to a Lush balm, a tried and tested lip balm for me that I knew I was a fan of, mostly because I was convinced I could find a lip balm that was just as good for a few quid cheaper. However after one awful experience with a Palmers Cocoa Butter balm I threw in the towel and went back to old faithful. Who could say no to a thick and creamy, chocolate orange scented lip balm?! Not me! With other balms I would, no word of a lie, be reapplying every 15 minutes, most of which feel slippery and greasy and leave a bad taste in the mouth. But Whipstick smells and tastes divine and leaves even my lips moisturised for so long that from the day I repurchased it I forgot dry lips were even a problem I had! 

If you’re like me and have dry and sore lips please give a Lush lip balm a try. Don’t be put off by spending a few extra pounds because honestly it is worth it!

 

The Rooster Teeth Video Podcast

Screen Shot 2014-07-09 at 00.38.12

I was already a huge fan of Rooster Teeth and Achievement Hunter (I have a secret crush on Ray) and I have watched a lot of their videos but never really bothered watching the podcast. Oh what I fool I have been! You’d never think listening to four random guys (and Barbara) talk about general current events/science for around an hour and a half would be interesting, but they’re such a fantastic bunch of characters that you can’t help but fall in love with them! Recently I have been binge watching episodes of the podcast, and even with the topics they’re talking about not exactly being current anymore (I’m already back in 2013 now) it is still thoroughly entertaining. You don’t have to be a gaming fan to enjoy this podcast, and I’d say just give it a go!


‘Toxic’ – Urban Decay Vice 2 

IMG_4233

IMG_4229

Now I must admit that the Urban Decay Vice 2 palette was a bit of an impulse buy. I already own, and am a huge fan of, the Naked 2 palette but was looking for something new with some new shades to play with. Usually I am a neutrals girl all the way, but after my friend Kat brought her Vice 2 when she came to visit there was something about it that I just needed at the time – in hindsight I’m pretty sure it was just because it was essentially limited edition and on sale at the time. However, one eyeshadow colour from this palette I’ve been playing with over the past month is the gorgeous bronzy/pink toned shade ‘Toxic’. I’ve been using the NYX Jumbo Eye pencil in Bronze as a cream base, then applying Toxic all over the lid and blending out, then using a tiny bit of ‘Tease’ (from the Naked 2) in the crease and again blending it out, before using a black gel liner (MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack) and of course mascara. Its been my go-to easy eye look that is a bit more out there than my usual super neutral eye look and I’m definitely loving it – I’ve even had a few compliments!


Christina Perri – Head or Heart

Christina-Perri-Head-or-Heart-2014-1500x1500

I’m going to finish off this selection of favourites with the newest album by Christina Perri ‘Head or Heart’. I absolutely adore Christina and one of my most favourite memories is being at her concert at Shepherds Bush, London with my Australian friend Madi, singing our little hearts out to the song ‘Arms’ – a personal favourite of both of ours. After a fantastic debut album I was so looking forward to ‘Head of Heart’, especially after hearing the first single ‘Human’. 

Favourite tracks from the album include a feel good duet with Ed Sheeran titled ‘Be My Forever’, as well as ‘I Don’t Wanna Break’ and ‘Burning Gold’. I actually feel that there isn’t a song that I don’t like on this album. Christina has beautiful tone to her voice and has produced an album that is once again truly fantastic. I hope she comes back to the UK soon because I need tickets!


So just a few things I have been loving over the past few months. Feel free to let me know some of your favourite things, or some suggestions for anything I should try out!

Talk to you later!

Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 23.53.03

 

Leave a Reply

