Wish List: Books #1

Hi again!

Now that I have finished university and have a lot more free time on my hands I’ve been getting back into reading, and naturally my wish list of books I want to read is quickly building up. So I thought I would share with you all the books that I am looking forward to reading.

A Tap on the Window” Linwood Barclay

Now this first one is somewhat of a cheat since I actually bought this today – I found it for £4 in ASDA and since I’ve almost finished the book I’m currently reading I just couldn’t resist! It seems that recently my choice of books are all that of the crime/thriller/murder sort of genre but there is just nothing like the feeling of these stories all coming together at the end. This story is about (from what I can gather from the blurb) a guy named Cal Weaver who picks up a hitchhiker who turns out to be one of his son’s classmates, however as a consequence of helping her out, the next morning he has gone from ‘Good Samaritan to Murder Suspect’ and finds himself in the middle of a ‘deadly puzzle’.  Oooh! Along with this one there are a few other stories by Barclay that I am particularly interested in reading, but I thought I would give this one a go as a start.

The Fault in Our Stars” John Green

With the film having just been released obviously there is a lot of hype around this book right now, and with the amount of fantastic reviews I’m surprised I haven’t gone out and bought it already – though it might be because of the emotional scarring I’m still feeling after reading “Before I Die” years ago. For those of you who don’t know, this story is a ‘thought-provoking’ love story centred around a young girl who is terminally ill. Definitely one I feel like I need to read.

We Are Liars” E. Lockhart

This is after a recommendation from Sanne from ‘booksandquills’ in a YouTube video with ‘essiebutton’ centred around Easy Reads to get you back into reading. I don’t know much about this one aside from that the story is based around a family of beautiful, rich girls who visit the island her grandfather owns every summer, until one year something goes wrong. So this is a little bit from Good Reads; A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive. A revolution. An accident. A secret. Lies upon lies. True love. The truth. Huummmm, interesting. I think its nice sometimes to go into reading a story and not knowing all the much about it, so we’ll see I guess!

Across the Universe” Beth Revis

Now it seems to me that this one falls a little more out of my comfort-zone. From what I’ve gathered it’s set in space, yet what draws me to this one still is the idea that there is murder involved somehow! “Trapped in space and frozen in time, Amy is bound for a new planet. But fifty years before she’s due to arrive, she is violently woken, the victim of an attempted murder. Someone is waiting for her. He wants to protect her; and more if she’ll let him. But who can she trust amidst the secrets and lies? A killer is out there – and Amy has nowhere to hide…”  Again this one has had great reviews, and I feel like this one could be an interesting read. I think that this one particularly is the one I’ll probably end  up picking up next.

Mistress” James Patterson 

I must admit I’ve never actually read a James Patterson book, but this one seems like the kind of story I would like. Its based around Ben Casper investigating his friends death, who has killed herself jumping from a sixth-floor apartment balcony. Its a story of CIA cover-ups, double lives, and more people who die under ‘questionable circumstances’. So I definitely feel this one could be quite an exciting read!

So there’s just a few books that are on my wish list right now. If you have any suggestions feel free to leave them below and if you’ve read any of these then what did you think of them?! No spoilers please!

Hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend.

Talk to you later!

Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 23.53.03

One thought on “Wish List: Books #1

Leave a Reply

